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A Note from 
the Executive 
Director
The State Water Board is starting this 
newsletter to communicate with Cali-
fornians about important water right 
laws and news.  This month, we want 
to spread the word about major chang-
es to water diversion and use reporting 
laws.  Among these changes are new 
monetary penalties for failure to re-
port water diversion and use and for 
reporting incorrect information.  Other 
changes include increased staffing to 
ensure compliance with reporting and 
other water right requirements.   Ad-
ditionally, in the past, water diversion 
and use reports were filed on paper 
forms provided by the State Water 
Board.  The State Water Board recently 
released a new online feature that  
allows those who file water use reports 
to do so from their home computers.  
We hope you will find this information 
useful, and we look forward to work-
ing with all Californians to ensure that 
our water is put to beneficial use.  

Any questions or comments regard-
ing the content of this newsletter 
can be directed to Marie Hoffman at 
MHoffman@waterboards.ca.gov

Dorothy Rice
Executive Director, 
State Water Board

New Penalties for Water Diversion  
and Use Report Violations

State law requires those who divert water from our lakes, rivers, streams, and creeks to report their monthly diversion  
and use.  For the health of California, it is important that we understand how much water is available versus how much  
is being used.  There are four types of water use forms that diverters file with the Board.  The new penalties apply specifi-
cally to Statements of Diversion and Use.  

With some exceptions, those who divert water after January 1, 2009 and commit any of the four categories of violation are 
subject to the new penalties.  Those who do not have to file statements may have to file other types of use reports which 
are subject to different laws and provisions.  

Those who do not have to file Statements of Diversion and Use include:

•	 Those who divert from a spring that does not flow off the property on which it is located, if the total diversion is not 
more than 25 acre-feet per year.

•	 Those who divert under a small domestic or livestock stockpond registration or certificate.
•	 Those who divert under a permit or license to appropriate water issued by the State Water Board.
•	 Those who divert from a source regulated by a court or state appointed watermaster where the watermaster maintains 

records of the diversion.

If a violation is discovered, the State Water Board will notify those responsible and may assess the initial penalty.  The 
period for correcting the violation begins on the date of notification.  The penalty increases each day after the correction 
period has passed.  The deadline to file water use for 2009 is July 1, 2010.  

Failure to File None $ 1,000 30 Days $ 500

Accidental Misstatement*
$ 500 $ 250 60 Days $ 250*Including those caused by a

broken water measuring device

Willful Misstatement*
$ 1,000 $ 25,000 30 Days $ 1,000*Including those caused by tampering 

with a water measuring device

Other Violation None $ 500 30 Days $ 250

VIOLATION
 Old Penalty New Penalty Correction Per Day After

 (before 2009) (2009 and after) Period Correction
    Period
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Current law requires supplemental statements to be filed every three years.  
Supplemental statements can be filed using our new online reporting system.  
First time filers may print the paper Statement of Diversion and Use from the 
Publications and Forms page of our website at:   http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/
waterrights/publications_forms/forms/index.shtml#statement

Comparison: Water Diversion and  
Use Reporting Penalties in Kansas
The California State Water Board began requiring water diverters to file State-
ments of Diversion and Use in 1966 but, until this year, there has not been a pen-
alty for not filing.  This lack of enforcement ability has undermined our water 
availability data for decades.  Meanwhile, other states have legislated penalties 
for violations of water use reporting laws.  Since adopting water use reporting 
violation statutes in 1988, Kansas has gained a reputation for accurate water 
availability data.  

Water rights in Kansas are managed by the Kansas Department of Agriculture’s 
Division of Water Resources.  Annual water use reports are mailed during the first 
week of the year and are due back in the office by March 1.  If a report is not 
filed or is filed late the Division of Water Resources accepts a reduced fine of $50, 
provided the report is filed before June 1.  After June 1, the full $250 fine stands.  
If they fail to respond, some violators have had the penalties deducted from their 
state tax refunds.  Because of the serious and persistent prosecution of delinquent 
reports, 94 percent of Kansas’ annual water use reports are filed on time.  By 
comparison, Supplemental Statements of Water Diversion and Use are only filed 
in California about 35 percent of the time, and many of the filings are deficient.

One similarity in California’s and Kansas’ laws is the criminality of reporting false 
information.  In Kansas, purposefully providing false information on a water di-
version and use report is considered a class C misdemeanor, punishable by up to 
thirty days in jail.  California law also classifies a willful misstatement as a misde-
meanor, punishable by a $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail.  However, under 
existing law, there was no penalty for failure to file.  The new statutes impose civil 
liabilities for failure to file and for fraudulent reporting, in addition to the criminal 
liabilities.  The initial administrative penalty that the State Water Board can im-
pose for fraudulent reporting is $25,000.  The amount of these penalties reflects 
the serious damage that can result from reporting false information.  California’s 
new laws are the first step towards a greater understanding of water availability, 
which will benefit the environment, economy and people all over the state.  

Online Water Use Reporting
In past years the State Water Board has asked that water use reports be filed on 
paper forms.  A new online reporting component to the Electronic Water Rights 

Information Management System (eWRIMS) has been developed to provide the 
option of reporting monthly diversion and use electronically.  There are four types 
of water use reports supported by the system:

1.		  Supplemental Statements of Diversion and Use
2.		  Report of Licensee
3.		  Report of Permittee
4.		  Groundwater Extraction Notices (Counties of Riverside, 
		  San Bernadino, Los Angeles, and Ventura)

Water use report forms mailed in February and March 2010 will include a username 
and password for each water right.  Filing these reports online will give the Board 
a more accurate picture of overall water availability by putting diversion and use 
data directly into eWRIMS. Please note that online reporting is optional this year, 
but the State Water Board plans to  adopt new regulations in 2010 that will require 
all future water use reports to be submitted through the online system.  

Instructions for filling out online reports will be posted to the eWRIMS website  
in February.  To assist water diverters and answer questions about water rights, 
staff from the Division of Water Rights will be visiting a number of locations  
in Northern California in late April.  Class schedules, locations and registration  
information will be released in February’s newsletter.

New Funding for Investigations
Senate Bill No. 8, adopted by the Legislature in extraordinary session and signed 
into law by the Governor in November, authorized funding for 25 new enforce-
ment positions in the Division of Water Rights.  It is estimated that these new staff 
will nearly triple our ability to protect California’s waters from illegal, unreason-
able, and wasteful use.

Water users are responsible for complying with state water rights law.  If an  
investigation determines that a misuse of water is occurring, the State Water 
Board may take an enforcement action such as 1) revoking a water right permit 
or license, 2) issuing a Cease and Desist Order seeking a court order to stop the 
diversion, 3) assessing a monetary penalty, or 4) allowing voluntary corrective 
action, depending on the nature of the violation.  If the Division issues a formal 
enforcement order and the water user disagrees that a violation occurred, the 
water user may request a hearing before the State Water Board. 

Subscription Information: To conserve resources, paper copies of the Califor-
nia Water Rights Newsletter will only be mailed out in special cases.  The internet is 
the sole means of regular distribution.  If you wish to be notified when a new issue 
has been posted, please sign up for the Water Rights Newsletter email list:

http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/waterrights/press_room/newsletter/index.shtml
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