Summary¹ of Training Requirements for **Underground Storage Tank (UST) Professionals**

(California Code of Regulations, Title 23, Chapter 16)

UST OWNER	CITATION
New Requirements:	
Submit a signed statement to the local agency by <u>January 1, 2005</u> , which includes ² :	§2715(a)
Owner understands and is in compliance with all applicable UST requirements.	
 Owner notifies the local agency of the Designated UST Operator for each facility owned. 	
DESIGNATED UST OPERATOR	
New Requirements:	
Possess a current "California UST System Operator" certification issued by the International	§2715(b)
Code Council (ICC) by <u>January 1, 2005</u> . Certification must be renewed every 24 months.	
• Provide annual on-the-job training for facility employee(s). Initial training required by	§2715(f)
<u>July 1, 2005</u> . Facility employees hired on or after July 1, 2005 must complete initial training	
within 30 days of the date of hire.	
 Perform monthly visual inspections and record results on an inspection report, which must be 	§2715(c)&(d)
provided to the owner/operator.	
UST SERVICE TECHNICIAN	
Secondary Containment Testing	
Existing Requirement:	
 Possess a current Tank Testers License or appropriate Contractors State License Board (CSLB) license³. 	§2637(d)
New Requirements:	
Obtain training and certification through the developer of the testing equipment or test method being used, or through the manufacturer of the secondary containment component being tested. Recertification is required at the time interval recommended by the manufacturer, or every 36 months, whichever is shorter.	\$2715(i)(2)&(3)
• Possess or work under the direct and personal supervision of an individual physically present at the work site who possesses a current "California UST Service Technician" certification issued by the ICC by July 1, 2005 ⁴ . Certification must be renewed every 24 months.	§2715(i)(4)
Annual Monitoring Equipment Certification	
Existing Requirements:	
 Possess a current Tank Testers License or appropriate CSLB license. 	§2638(b)
 Obtain training and certification from the monitoring equipment manufacturer and be recertified at the time interval recommended by the manufacturer, or every 36 months, whichever is shorter. 	§2715(i)(2)&(3)
New Requirement:	
Possess or work under the direct and personal supervision of an individual physically present	§2715(i)(4)
at the work site who possesses a current "California UST Service Technician" certification issued by the ICC by July 1, 2005 ⁴ . Certification must be renewed every 24 months.	χ2/13(1)(1)

¹ This is a **summary** table and does <u>not</u> present comprehensive information on the training requirements. Please refer to Title 23, California Code of Regulations for detailed information on the training requirements for UST professionals. A copy of the UST regulations is available online at: www.swrcb.ca.gov/ust.

² The owner must inform the local agency of any change of designated UST operator(s) no later than 30 days after the change.

³ A Tank Tester License must be held by the individual performing the work. A CSLB license may be held by either the employer or the individual performing the work.

⁴ If the California UST Service Technician exam is not available by July 1, 2004, this requirement will become effective 12 months after the date the exam is available.

	T
UST INSTALLER	CITATION
Existing Requirements:	
 Possess the appropriate current CSLB license³. 	§2715(g)
Obtain or work under the direct and personal supervision of an individual physically present	§2715(h)(1)
at the work site that has obtained a certificate(s) of training from the manufacturer(s) of the	
UST system component(s) being installed. Recertification is required at the time interval	
recommended by the manufacturer, or every 36 months, whichever is shorter.	
New Requirement:	
 Possess or work under the direct and personal supervision of an individual physically present 	§2715(h)(2)
at the work site who possesses a current "UST Installation/Retrofitting" certification issued	
by the ICC by <u>January 1, 2005</u> . Certification must be renewed every 24 months.	
UST INSPECTOR	
New Requirements:	
■ Possess a current ICC "California UST Inspector" certification by September 1, 2005 ⁵ .	§2715(j)(1)&(2)
Certification must be renewed every 24 months, by either passing the "ICC California UST	
Inspector" exam or satisfying equivalent criteria as approved by the State Water Resources	
Control Board UST Program Manager.	
• UST inspectors hired on or after <u>September 1, 2005</u> must possess a current ICC "California	§2715(j)(1)
UST Inspector" certification within 180 days from the date of hire.	
CATHODIC PROTECTION TESTER	
New Requirement:	
 Possess a current certificate from the National Association of Corrosion Engineers (NACE) 	§2611
or the ICC, demonstrating education and experience in soil resistively, stray current,	
structure-to-soil potential, and component electrical isolation measurements of buried or	
submerged metallic piping and UST systems. NACE requires recertification every 3 years;	
ICC requires recertification every 2 years.	
CORROSION SPECIALIST	
Existing Requirement:	
 Possess a current certificate from NACE as a corrosion specialist, or be a registered 	§2611
professional engineer with a current certificate or license requiring education and experience	
in corrosion control of buried or submerged metallic piping and UST systems.	

⁵ If the California UST Inspector exam is not available by September 1, 2004, this requirement will become effective 12 months after the date the exam is available.