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Summary1 of Training Requirements for
Underground Storage Tank (UST) Professionals

(California Code of Regulations, Title 23, Chapter 16)

UST OWNER CITATION
New Requirements:
Submit a signed statement to the local agency by January 1, 2005, which includes2:
 Owner understands and is in compliance with all applicable UST requirements.
 Owner notifies the local agency of the Designated UST Operator for each facility owned.

§2715(a)

DESIGNATED UST OPERATOR
New Requirements:
 Possess a current “California UST System Operator” certification issued by the International

Code Council (ICC) by January 1, 2005. Certification must be renewed every 24 months.
 Provide annual on-the-job training for facility employee(s).  Initial training required by

July 1, 2005.  Facility employees hired on or after July 1, 2005 must complete initial training
within 30 days of the date of hire.

 Perform monthly visual inspections and record results on an inspection report, which must be
provided to the owner/operator.

§2715(b)

§2715(f)

§2715(c)&(d)

UST SERVICE TECHNICIAN
Secondary Containment Testing
Existing Requirement:
 Possess a current Tank Testers License or appropriate Contractors State License Board

(CSLB) license3. 
New Requirements:
 Obtain training and certification through the developer of the testing equipment or test

method being used, or through the manufacturer of the secondary containment component
being tested.  Recertification is required at the time interval recommended by the
manufacturer, or every 36 months, whichever is shorter.

 Possess or work under the direct and personal supervision of an individual physically present
at the work site who possesses a current “California UST Service Technician” certification
issued by the ICC by July 1, 20054.  Certification must be renewed every 24 months.

Annual Monitoring Equipment Certification
Existing Requirements:
 Possess a current Tank Testers License or appropriate CSLB license. 
 Obtain training and certification from the monitoring equipment manufacturer and be

recertified at the time interval recommended by the manufacturer, or every 36 months,
whichever is shorter.  

New Requirement:
 Possess or work under the direct and personal supervision of an individual physically present

at the work site who possesses a current “California UST Service Technician” certification
issued by the ICC by July 1, 20054.  Certification must be renewed every 24 months.

§2637(d)

§2715(i)(2)&(3)

§2715(i)(4)

§2638(b)
§2715(i)(2)&(3)

§2715(i)(4)

                                                
1 This is a summary table and does not present comprehensive information on the training requirements.  Please refer to
Title 23, California Code of Regulations for detailed information on the training requirements for UST professionals.  A copy
of the UST regulations is available online at: www.swrcb.ca.gov/ust. 
2 The owner must inform the local agency of any change of designated UST operator(s) no later than 30 days after the change.
3 A Tank Tester License must be held by the individual performing the work.  A CSLB license may be held by either the
employer or the individual performing the work.  
4 If the California UST Service Technician exam is not available by July 1, 2004, this requirement will become effective 12
months after the date the exam is available. 
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UST INSTALLER CITATION
Existing Requirements:
 Possess the appropriate current CSLB license3.
 Obtain or work under the direct and personal supervision of an individual physically present

at the work site that has obtained a certificate(s) of training from the manufacturer(s) of the
UST system component(s) being installed.  Recertification is required at the time interval
recommended by the manufacturer, or every 36 months, whichever is shorter. 

New Requirement:
 Possess or work under the direct and personal supervision of an individual physically present

at the work site who possesses a current “UST Installation/Retrofitting” certification issued
by the ICC by January 1, 2005.  Certification must be renewed every 24 months. 

§2715(g)
§2715(h)(1)

§2715(h)(2)

UST INSPECTOR
New Requirements:
 Possess a current ICC “California UST Inspector” certification by September 1, 20055.

Certification must be renewed every 24 months, by either passing the “ICC California UST
Inspector” exam or satisfying equivalent criteria as approved by the State Water Resources
Control Board UST Program Manager. 

 UST inspectors hired on or after September 1, 2005 must possess a current ICC “California
UST Inspector” certification within 180 days from the date of hire.

§2715(j)(1)&(2)

§2715(j)(1)

CATHODIC PROTECTION TESTER
New Requirement:
 Possess a current certificate from the National Association of Corrosion Engineers (NACE)

or the ICC, demonstrating education and experience in soil resistively, stray current,
structure-to-soil potential, and component electrical isolation measurements of buried or
submerged metallic piping and UST systems.  NACE requires recertification every 3 years;
ICC requires recertification every 2 years. 

§2611

CORROSION SPECIALIST
Existing Requirement:
 Possess a current certificate from NACE as a corrosion specialist, or be a registered

professional engineer with a current certificate or license requiring education and experience
in corrosion control of buried or submerged metallic piping and UST systems. 

§2611

                                                
5 If the California UST Inspector exam is not available by September 1, 2004, this requirement will become effective
12 months after the date the exam is available. 


	UST OWNER
	CITATION
	DESIGNATED UST OPERATOR
	New Requirements:
	
	UST SERVICE TECHNICIAN


	Secondary Containment Testing
	Annual Monitoring Equipment Certification
	
	UST INSTALLER
	UST INSPECTOR

	CATHODIC PROTECTION TESTER
	CORROSION SPECIALIST


