Statewide Advisory Committee on Cooling Water Intake Structures FINAL MEETING MINUTES March 14, 2022

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Karen Mogus called the 2022 Annual Meeting of the Statewide Advisory Committee on Cooling Intake Water Structures (SACCWIS) to order on March 14, 2022, at 1:00 pm. As a result of the COVID-19 emergency and the Governor's Executive Orders to protect human health by limiting public gatherings and requiring social distancing, this meeting was held via video and teleconference.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Karen Mogus, State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board)

Pete Skala, California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC)

Neil Millar, California Independent System Operator (CAISO)

Tom Luster, California Coastal Commission (CCC)

Aleecia Gutierrez, California Energy Commission (CEC)

Nicole Dobroski, California State Lands Commission (SLC)

Carey Bylin, California Air Resources Board (CARB)

INTER-AGENCY WORKING GROUP MEMBERS PRESENT

Lana Wong, Rachel MacDonald, and Allen Le, CEC

Stephanie Kato, CARB

Jasmie Guan, Cristy Sanada, and Delphine Hou, CAISO

Alexandar "Sasha" Cole and Michele Kito, CPUC

Amanda Cousart, CCC

Jonathan Dolan and Katherine Walsh, State Water Board

OTHERS PRESENT

Meredith "Molly" Sterkel, CPUC

David Le, CAISO

David Erne and Mark Kootstra, CEC

Katherine Rubin, Glenn Barry, James Barner, Jay Lim, Jonathon Flores, Mark Sedlacek, Julie Riley, Reiko Kerr, and Jason Rondou, Los Angeles Department of Water and Power (LADWP)

Charlene Nguyen, South Coast Air Quality Management District

Kaitlyn Kalua, Ocean Protection Council

Martin Marrufo, International Brotherhood of Electrical Works (IBEW) Local 18 Marleigh Wood, Rebecca Fitzgerald, and Michelle Robins, State Water Board

ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

COMMITTEE MEETING

Public comments are solicited prior to any decisions by the SACCWIS.

MOTION TO ADOPT MEETING MINUTES FROM 2021 SACCWIS MEETINGS

- Karen Mogus entertained a motion to accept meeting minutes from the SACCWIS meeting held on March 26, 2021. Tom Luster moved to approve the meeting minutes with no changes, and Neil Millar seconded the motion.
- The motion was accepted by all committee members except for Pete Skala, who abstained as he was not present at the March 26, 2021 SACCWIS meeting.

PRESENTATION OF THE INTER-AGENCY WORKING GROUP

 Jonathan Dolan (State Water Resources Control Board) and Meredith "Molly" Sterkel (CPUC) gave the presentation on the Draft 2022 Report of the SACCWIS.

PRESENTATION OF LADWP'S REQUEST TO EXTEND THE COMPLIANCE DATE OF SCATTERGOOD GENERATING STATION

 Katherine Rubin, Jason Rondou, and Glenn Barry (LADWP) gave a presentation on LADWP's February 3, 2022 request to the State Water Resources Control Board to extend the compliance date of Scattergood Generating Station from December 31, 2024, to December 31, 2029.

COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS

Karen Mogus, State Water Board Aleecia Gutierrez, CEC Tom Luster, CCC Carey Bylin, CARB Neil Millar, CAISO

PUBLIC COMMENTS ON AGENDA ITEMS

Martin Marrufo, IBEW Local 18

COMMITTEE ACTION ITEMS

CONSIDERATION OF THE DRAFT 2022 REPORT OF THE SACCWIS

Motion: Karen Mogus entertained a motion to approve the SACCWIS Report with no changes. Nicole Dobroski moved to approve the SACCWIS Report with no changes, and Aleecia Gutierrez seconded the motion.

MOTION CARRIED: The Draft 2022 Report of the SACCWIS was approved by all committee members.

PUBLIC COMMENTS ON NON-AGENDA ITEMS

None.

ADJOURN
The SACCWIS adjourned at 2:22 pm.