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Notice of Violation for Failure to respond to the Directive 



 
 
 

 

8 January 2015 
D 
Bill Egleston 
10274 Bell Dr 
Atwater, CA 95301- 
 

Certified Mail Number 
7013 1710 0002 3644 6726 

 
NOTICE OF VIOLATION 

FAILURE TO OBTAIN IRRIGATED LANDS REGULATORY COVERAGE UNDER 
CALIFORNIA WATER CODE SECTION 13260 

 
FAILURE TO RESPOND MAY RESULT IN FINES OF UP TO $1,000 PER DAY 

 
You are receiving this letter because, based on information available to the California Regional 
Water Quality Control Board, Central Valley Region (Central Valley Water Board or board), has 
received information that the following parcels you own no longer have regulatory coverage via 
enrollment in the East San Joaquin Water Quality Coalition (Coalition) and that you have not 
responded to the Directive Order sent to you on 7 November 2014. 
 
County: Merced 

056-040-049    
    
 
On 7 November 2014 the California Regional Water Quality Control Board, Central Valley 
Region’s (Central Valley Water Board) Assistant Executive Officer issued you a directive to 
obtain irrigated lands regulatory coverage pursuant to California Water Code section 13260 
(Directive Letter).  The Directive Letter required you to either join a coalition group, enroll as an 
individual discharger under waste discharge requirements for irrigated agricultural lands, or file 
an Exemption Claim.  As stated in the Directive Letter, discharge from irrigated lands may be 
considered a “waste” under the California Water Code.  Irrigating agricultural lands may result in 
discharges of waste to land/groundwater or to surface water that could affect the quality of 
waters of the state. Accordingly, these parcels, as well as any other irrigated commercial 
cropland you may own requires regulatory coverage. 
 
Central Valley Water Board records indicate that (1) you received the Directive Letter by 
certified mail on 8 November 2014 and (2) you have not arranged regulatory coverage within 
the 15 calendar days as required.  This letter serves as notice that you are in violation of the 
Directive Letter.  For your information a copy of the original Directive Order has been attached 
to this Notice of Violation. 
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Pursuant to the Directive Letter, you were required to determine which option was appropriate 
for your situation and submit the appropriate documents to: 

Central Valley Water Board 
Attn: Terry Bechtel 

Irrigated Lands Regulatory Program 
11020 Sun Center Drive, Suite 200 

Rancho Cordova, CA 95670 
 

Water Code section 13260 states, in relevant part: 

(a) All of the following persons shall file with the appropriate regional board a report of 
the discharge, containing the information which may be required by the regional board: 

(1) Any person discharging waste, or proposing to discharge waste, within any 
region that could affect the quality of the waters of the state, other than into a 
community sewer system. 

 
You must take one of the following actions within 15 calendar days: 

1. Submit (a) a completed Notice of Intent (NOI; provided herein as an attachment) to 
the Central Valley Water Board to comply with the conditions of the General Order, 
(b) a State Water Board administrative processing fee of $200 for the NOI, and (c) a 
membership application to the East San Joaquin Water Quality Coalition (Coalition).  
Upon submittal of a complete NOI, and after receiving confirmation from the Coalition 
that you are now a member, the Central Valley Water Board Executive Officer will 
then issue a Notice of Applicability (NOA), after which you will be considered covered 
under the General Order.   
 
If you have questions, please contact Terry Bechtel with the Central Valley Water 
Board at (916) 464-4720 or via email at terry.bechtel@waterboards.ca.gov.  

 
You can obtain a Coalition membership application by contacting the Coalition at     
(209) 846-6112, or at www.esjcoalition.org.  You should ask to speak with Katy 
Khatami; or 

 
2. Enroll as an Individual Discharger under the Waste Discharge Requirements for 

Dischargers from Irrigated Lands within the Central Valley Region for Dischargers 
not Participating in a Third-party Group (Order R5-2013-0100 or Individual Order). If 
choosing this option you must submit a completed Notice of Intent1 (NOI) with the 
first year’s annual fee to the Central Valley Water Board.  The fee schedule for the 
Individual Order can be found at: 
http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/resources/fees/docs/fy13_14_fee_schedule_ilrp.pdf 
 
When regulated individually, you also must conduct your own monitoring and report 
directly to the Central Valley Water Board.  Depending on the specific site conditions, 
you may be required to monitor runoff from your property, install monitoring wells, 

                                                 
1 The required information for submitting a Notice Intent to enroll under the Individual Order can be found in 
Attachment B section IV.B of the Individual Order (Order R5-2013-0100). 
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and submit technical reports regarding your actions to comply with the Individual 
Order.  If you intend to select this option please contact please contact Terry Bechtel 
with the Central Valley Water Board at (916) 464-4720 or via email at 
terry.bechtel@waterboards.ca.gov. 
 

3. File an Exemption Claim if you no longer own/operate the parcel(s), no longer are 
commercial or irrigate, or are covered under the Central Valley Water Board General 
Order R5-2013-0122 for Waste Discharge Requirements for Existing Milk Cow 
Dairies, you are not required to have regulatory coverage under the Irrigated Lands 
Regulatory Program.  If you intend to select this option please contact please contact 
Terry Bechtel with the Central Valley Water Board at (916) 464-4720 or via email at 
terry.bechtel@waterboards.ca.gov. 

 
If you fail to take one of the actions described above, the Central Valley Water Board may 
impose penalties of up to $1,000 per day pursuant to Water Code section 13261.  

Water Code section 13261 states, in relevant part: 

(a) Any person failing to furnish a report or pay a fee under Section 13260 when so 
requested by a regional board is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be liable civilly in 
accordance with subdivision (b). 

(b) (1) Civil liability may be administratively imposed by a regional board … in an amount 
that may not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each day in which the violation 
occurs. 

For general information about the Central Valley Water Board’s Irrigated Lands Regulatory 
Program, please visit:  

http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/centralvalley/water_issues/irrigated_lands/index.shtml 

 
If you have any further questions, please contact Terry Bechtel at (916) 464-4720 or via email at 
terry.bechtel@waterboards.ca.gov. 
 
Para obtener más información en español (formularios u otra información), por favor 
contáctenos al telefono (916) 464-4611 o vía email a: Irrlands@waterboards.ca.gov. 
 
  [Original signed by] 
 
Andrew Altevogt 
Assistant Executive officer 
 
 
Attachments:  7 November 2014 Directive Order 
   Copy of 22 December 2014 Water Board Enforcement News
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