
 

California Regional Water Quality Control Board 
North Coast Region 

 
Administrative Civil Liability Order No. R1-2008-0050 

 
For 

 
Violation of Waste Discharge Requirements 

Order No. 97-24 and R1-2005-0009 (NPDES No.CA0024040) 
 

In the Matter of 
Mendocino County Water Works District No. 2 

Anchor Bay Wastewater Treatment Facility 
WDID No. 1B83118OMEN 

 
Mendocino County 

 
This Order, to assess administrative civil liability for penalties pursuant to Water 
Code section 13385, is issued to the Mendocino County Water Works District No. 
2 (hereinafter Discharger) for violations of Waste Discharge Requirements 
(WDRs) Order Nos. 97-24 and R1-2005-0009.  Mandatory minimum penalties 
are assessed for violations of effluent limitations occurring during the period from 
March 10, 2004 through June 30, 2007.   
 
The California Regional Water Quality Control Board, North Coast Region 
(hereinafter Regional Water Board), finds the following: 
 
1. The Discharger owns and operates the Anchor Bay Wastewater Treatment 

Facility (WWTF) that discharges secondary treated municipal wastewater 
into the Pacific Ocean during winter months (October 1 to May 14) only. 

 
2. The Regional Water Board adopted Waste Discharge Requirements Order 

No. 97-24 for the Discharger on March 27, 1997.  Order No. 97-24 was 
rescinded and replaced with Waste Discharge Requirements (WDRs) Order 
No. R1-2005-0009 on April 20, 2005.  Both Orders serve as a National 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit under the Federal 
Clean Water Act. 

 
3. This Order covers violations of effluent limitations that occurred from March 

10, 2004 through June 30, 2007.  The effluent limitation violations are 
subject to the mandatory minimum penalties provision contained in Water 
Code section 13385, subdivisions (h) and (i).  On February 25, 2008, the 
Assistant Executive Officer issued Administrative Civil Liability Complaint 
No. R1-2008-0026 (ACLC) assessing mandatory minimum penalties in the 
amount of $3,000 for violations described in the following Findings.     
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4. Among the provisions in the Discharger’s WDRs are the requirements to 
implement a discharge monitoring program, to prepare and submit NPDES 
self-monitoring reports pursuant to Water Code section 13383.  These 
reports are designed to ensure compliance with effluent limitations 
contained in the WDRs.   

 
5. Water Code section 13385, subdivision (h)(1) establishes a mandatory 

minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each serious 
violation of NPDES permit effluent limitations.  Water Code section 13385, 
subdivision (h)(2) states that a serious violation occurs if the discharge from 
a facility regulated by an NPDES permit exceeds the effluent limitations 
from a Group 1 pollutant,  as specified in Appendix A section 123.45 title 40 
of the Code of Federal Regulations, by 40 percent or more, or for a Group II 
pollutant, as specified in Appendix A section 123.45 of title 40 of the Code 
of Federal Regulations, by 20 percent or more.  Total coliform is neither a 
Group I nor a Group II pollutant; therefore, exceedances of effluent 
limitations for total coliform bacteria do not count as serious violations. 

 
6. Water Code section 13385, subdivision (i)(1) establishes a mandatory 

penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each violation, not counting 
the first three violations, if the discharger does any of the following four or 
more times in any six-month period: 

 
a. Violates a waste discharge requirement effluent limitation. 
b. Fails to file a report pursuant to Section 13260. 
c. Files an incomplete report pursuant to Section 13260. 
d. Violates a toxicity discharge limitation where the waste discharge 

requirements do not contain pollutant-specific effluent limitations for toxic 
pollutants. 
 

Violations under section 13385, subdivision (i)(1) are referred to as chronic 
violations in this Complaint. 

 
7. On February 19, 2002, the State Water Resources Control Board (State 

Water Board) adopted Resolution No. 2002-0040 amending the Water 
Quality Enforcement Policy (Enforcement Policy).  The Enforcement Policy 
was approved by the Office of Administrative Law and became effective on 
July 30, 2002.  The Enforcement Policy addresses, among other 
enforcement issues, issues related to assessing mandatory minimum 
penalties for violations of WDRs. 

 
8. For the purpose of determining a Discharger’s compliance with effluent 

limitations in its Waste Discharge Requirements Order/NPDES permit, the 
30-day average is equivalent to the monthly average, which is defined as 
the arithmetic mean of all daily determinations made during a calendar 
month.  Where less than daily sampling is required, the average shall be 
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determined by the sum of all the measured daily discharges divided by the 
number of days during the calendar month when the measurements were 
made.  If only one sample is collected during that period of time, the value of 
the single sample shall constitute the monthly average. 

 
9. Order No. 97-24 includes the following discharge prohibitions and effluent 

limitation: 
 

B.  EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS

Waste discharged to the Pacific Ocean (Discharge Serial 002) shall not 
contain constituents in excess of the following limits (Table A and Table B 
constituents are as described and defined in the California Ocean Plan, 
adopted on March 22, 1990): 

 
TABLE A 

MAJOR WASTEWATER CONSTITUENTS 
 
Constituent Unit 30-Day Median Daily Maximum 

Coliform Organisms (Total) MPN/100 23 230 
 

 
10. According to monitoring reports submitted by the Discharger for the period 

from March 10, 2004 to June 30, 2007, the Discharger exceeded effluent 
limitations two times while discharging effluent to the Pacific Ocean.  Both 
were chronic effluent violations, as described in Water Code section 13385, 
subdivision (i)(1).  The mandatory minimum penalty amount for violations 
during this time period is $3,000 as shown in the following table: 

 
Effluent Limitation Exceedances 
March 10, 2004 to June 30, 2007 

 
Date of  
Violation 

Description of Violation and 
Permit Limits 

Reported 
Value 

Violation 
Type 

Mandatory 
Penalty 

5/31/04 Exceeded 30-Day Median of 
23 MPN/100 ml for Coliform 

41 MPN/100 
ml 

Chronic $3,000 

3/31/05 Exceeded 30-Day Median of 
23 MPN/100 ml for Coliform 

33 MPN/100 
ml 

Chronic $0 

   Total  $3,000 
 
 
11. A mandatory minimum penalty of $3,000 is assessed for the chronic 

Coliform violation occurring on May 31, 2004 because five violations of 
effluent limitations occurred within the previous six-month period (violations 
occurred between January 14, 2004 through March 9, 2004).  Penalty 
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assessment for the previous violations was considered in Administrative 
Civil Liability Complaint No. R1-2005-0050 issued on June 15, 2005. 

 
12. A duly noticed public hearing on this matter was held before the Regional 

Water Board on June 11 and 12, 2008 in the Regional Water Board’s Hearing 
Room, 5550 Skylane Boulevard, Suite A, Santa Rosa, California.  The 
documents for the agenda item were provided to the Discharger and made 
available to the public prior to the hearing.  The Discharger and the public 
were given the opportunity to testify and present evidence regarding the 
proposed settlement. 

 
13. The issuance of this Order is an enforcement action to protect the 

environment, and is therefore exempt from the provisions of the California 
Environmental Quality Act (Pub. Resources Code, §§ 21000-21177) 
pursuant to title 14, California Code of Regulations, sections 15308 and 
15321, subdivision (a)(2). 

 
14. Any person affected by this action of the Regional Water Board may petition 

the State Water Resources Control Board to review the action in accordance 
with section 13320 of the Water Code and title 23, California Code of 
Regulations, section 2050.  The petition must be received by the State 
Water Resources Control Board within thirty days of the date of this Order.  
Copies of the law and regulations applicable to filing petitions will be 
provided upon request. 

 
THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, pursuant to Water Code section 
13385 that the Discharger pay an Administrative Civil Liability in the amount of 
$3,000 due and payable within 30 days of the adoption of this order. 

 
       Certification 
 

I, Catherine Kuhlman, Executive Officer, 
do hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, 
and correct copy of an Order adopted by the 
California Regional Water Quality Control Board, 
North Coast Region on June 11 and 12, 2008. 
 
 
 
____________________________________ 
 Catherine Kuhlman 
 Executive Officer 
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