
 
 

Exhibit	“A”		
	

City	of	Eureka	
Elk	River	Wastewater	Treatment	Facility	

WDRs	Order	No.	R1‐2009‐0033	
NPDES	Permit	No.	CA0024449	
WDID	No.	1B82151OHUM	

	
	

NOTICE	OF	VIOLATION	
(Tentative	Administrative	Civil	Liability	Order	No.	R1‐2014‐0038)	
MANDATORY	MINIMUM	PENALTIES	WITHOUT	ENFORCEMENT	

	
for	the	

	
Period	October	1,	2011	through	February	28,	2014	

	
The	following	table	lists	this	facility’s	alleged	violations	of	subdivisions	(h)	and	(i)	of	
California	Water	Code	section	13385,	which	have	not	received	mandatory	minimum	
penalty	assessment	by	the	Water	Boards.		Final	calculation	of	MMP	amounts	owed,	and	
descriptions	of	the	abbreviations	that	appear	in	the	table	are	also	listed	below.		For	
additional	information	about	the	alleged	violations	listed	in	the	table,	please	refer	to	the	
SWRCB	Public	Reports	webpage	
http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/water_issues/programs/ciwqs/publicreports.shtml	
choose	the	“MMP	Report”	link	located	under	the	“Enforcement	Reports”	category.	Once	in	
the	Public	Reports	search	page,	enter	the	search	criteria	that	correspond	to	your	facility	to	
access	the	list	of	violations.	
	

	

CIWQS	
ID	

Violation	
Date	

Violation	
Type	 Parameter	

Reported	
Value	 Limit Units	

MMP	
Type	

MMP	
Amount	

924692	 3/31/12	 CAT1	
Coliform	

Min.	30‐day	 20	 10	 %	
1st	

Chronic	 $0*	

941403	 11/15/12	 CAT2	 Copper
6‐Month	Median	

35	 33	 ug/L	 1st	
Chronic	

$0*	

941402	 11/20/12	 CAT1	
Settleable	Solids

Daily	Max	 1.5	 0.2	 ml/L/hr	 Serious	 $3,000	

958856	 10/31/13	 CAT2	
Copper

6‐Month	Median	 34	 33	 ug/L	
1st	

Chronic	 $0	

959820	 11/30/13	 CAT2	
Copper

6‐Month	Median	 34	 33	 ug/L	
2nd

Chronic	 $0	

961691	 12/31/13	 CAT2	
Copper

6‐Month	Median	
37	 33	 ug/L	

3rd
Chronic	

$0	

963463	 1/31/14	 CAT2	
Copper

6‐Month	Median	
40	 33	 ug/L	 Chronic	 $3,000	

965392	 2/11/14	 CAT2	
Copper

6‐Month	Median	
40	 33	 ug/L	 Chronic	 $3,000	

TOTAL $9,000	
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EXPEDITED	PAYMENT	AMOUNT:		$9,000	
	
Mandatory	Minimum	Penalty	Amount	Owed	for	Effluent	Violations	
((1	 Serious	 +	 2	 Chronic	 Violations)	 ×	 $3,000)	 =	 $9,000	 owed	 to	 the	 Cleanup	 &	
Abatement	Account	
	 	
Definition	of	Acronyms	&	Abbreviations	

CIWQS	
California	Integrated	Water	Quality	System	database	used	by	the	Water	Boards	to	
manage	violation	and	enforcement	activities.	

Violation	ID	 Identification	number	assigned	to	a	violation	in	CIWQS.		

Occurrence	
Date	

Date	that	a	violation	actually	occurred.	For	continuing	violations,	such	as	a	monthly	
average,	the	last	day	of	the	reporting	period	is	used.	If	the	occurrence	date	is	unknown,	
the	date	is	entered	as	the	day	it	was	first	discovered	by	staff,	the	Discharger,	or	a	third	
party.	For	deficient	or	late	reports,	the	occurrence	date	is	the	day	after	the	report	was	
due.	

Type	
Classification	of	a	violation.	Two	types	of	violations	relate	to	MMPs:		
			1)	Late	Reporting	Violations	(LREP,	DREP)	
			2)	Effluent	Violations	(ATOX,	CTOX,	CAT1,	CAT2,	OEV)	

LREP	
Late	reporting	violation.	Every	30	days	a	report	is	late	counts	as	one	late	reporting	
violation.	

DREP	
Deficient	reporting	violation.	This	will	only	result	in	an	MMP	if	the	report	is	so	deficient	
as	to	make	determination	of	compliance	impossible	for	that	reporting	period.	

ATOX	 Violation	of	an	acute	toxicity	effluent	limitation.		
CTOX	 Violation	of	a	chronic	toxicity	effluent	limitation.		
CAT1	 Violation	of	an	effluent	limitation	for	a	Group	I	pollutant	by	more	than	40%.		
CAT2	 Violation	of	an	effluent	limitation	for	a	Group	II	pollutant	by	more	than	20%.	

OEV	
Violation	of	any	constituent‐specific	effluent	limitation	not	included	in	Group	I	or	Group	
II.			

MMP	Type	 Classification	of	the	type	of	MMP	violation.		

CHRON	
Chronic	violation	as	defined	by	California	Water	Code	section	13385	(i).		To	be	counted	
as	a	chronic	violation,	there	must	be	3	preceding	violations	within	a	180	day	period.		The	
fourth	non‐serious	violation	that	occurs	within	the	180	period	is	an	MMP	violation.		

SIG	

Serious	violation	as	defined	by	California	Water	Code	section	13385	(h).		Waste	discharge	
exceeds	the	effluent	limitation	for	a	Group	I	pollutant	by	40%	or	more	(CAT1),	or	a	Group	
II	pollutant	by	20%	or	more	(CAT2).	Also	defined	by	California	Water	Code	section	
13385.1	as	a	failure	to	file	a	discharge	monitoring	report	pursuant	to	Section	13383	for	
each	period	of	30	days	following	the	deadline	for	submitting	the	report,	if	the	report	is	
designed	to	ensure	compliance	with	limitations	contained	in	waste	discharge	
requirements	that	contain	effluent	limitations.	

Violation	
Description	

Narrative	description	of	the	violation.		

M	 Effluent	exceeds	limit	for	monthly	reporting	period.	
Q	 Effluent	exceeds	limit	for	quarterly	reporting	period.	
S	 Effluent	exceeds	limit	for	semi‐annual	reporting	period.	
A	 Effluent	exceeds	limit	for	annual	reporting	period.	
IM	 Effluent	exceeds	instantaneous	maximum	limitation.	
DM	 Effluent	exceeds	daily	maximum	limitation.	
AW	 Effluent	exceeds	average	weekly	limitation.	
AM	 Effluent	exceeds	average	monthly	limitation.	
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