
 
 

California Regional Water Quality Control Board 
North Coast Region 

 
Administrative Civil Liability Complaint No. R1-2009-0131 

 
For  

 
Violation of Waste Discharge Requirements 

Order No. R1-2001-45 
 

In the Matter of 
Pacific Gas and Electric Company 

Humboldt Bay Power Plant 
WDID No. 1B82085OHUM 

 
Humboldt County 

 
 

This Complaint assesses administrative civil liability for penalties pursuant to Water 
Code section 13385 and is issued to the Pacific Gas and Electric Company (hereinafter 
Discharger) for effluent limit violations of Waste Discharge Requirements (WDRs) Order 
No. R1-2001-45.  Mandatory minimum penalties are assessed for effluent limit 
violations that occurred between February 28, 2001 through December 31, 2008. 
 
The Assistant Executive Officer of the Regional Water Quality Control Board, North 
Coast Region (Regional Water Board), finds the following: 
 
1. The Discharger owns and operates a power plant located on the east shore of 

Humboldt Bay.  The power plant uses about 76 million gallons per day of Humboldt 
Bay water for once-through cooling purposes and returns that water to the Bay via 
a discharge canal.  Other waste streams are combined with the cooling water in 
the canal prior to discharge at Discharge Serial No. 001. 

 
2. Since February 28, 2001, the Discharger’s Humboldt Bay Power Plant has been 

regulated by WDRs Order No. R1-2001-45, which serves as the National Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permit under the Clean Water Act 
(NPDES No. CA0005622). 

 
3. This Complaint covers effluent limit violations of WDRs Order No. R1-2001-45 that 

occurred between February 28, 2001 through December 31, 2008. These effluent 
limitations violations are subject to the mandatory minimum penalties as specified 
in California Water Code section 13385 subdivisions (h) and (i).  Finding 11 
includes a summary of the effluent limit violations. 

 
4. WDRs Order No. R1-2001-45 include provisions requiring the Discharger to 

implement a discharge monitoring program and to prepare and submit monthly and 
annual NPDES self-monitoring reports to the Regional Water Board pursuant to 
Water Code section 13383.  These reports are designed to document compliance 
with effluent limitations contained in the WDRs. 

 
5. California Water Code section 13385 subdivision (h)(1) establishes a mandatory 

minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each serious violation of 
NPDES permit effluent limitations.  California Water Code section 13385 
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subdivision (h)(2), states that a serious violation occurs if the discharge from a 
facility regulated by an NPDES permit exceeds the effluent limitations for a Group I 
pollutant, as specified in Appendix A to Section 123.45 of title 40 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations, by 40 percent or more, or for a Group II pollutant, as 
specified in Appendix A to Section 123.45 of title 40 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations, by 20 percent or more. 

 
6. Water Code section 13385, subdivision (i)(1) requires the Regional Water Board to 

assess a mandatory minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each 
violation, not counting the first three violations, if the discharger does any of the 
following four or more times in any six-month period: 

 
a. Violates a waste discharge requirement effluent limitation.  
b. Fails to file a report pursuant to Section 13260. 
c. Files an incomplete report pursuant to Section 13260. 
d. Violates a toxicity discharge limitation where the waste discharge requirements 

do not contain pollutant-specific effluent limitations for toxic pollutants. 
 

Violations under California Water Code section 13385 subdivision (i)(1) are 
referred to as “chronic violations” in this Complaint. 

 
7. On February 19, 2002, the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water 

Board) adopted Resolution No. 2002-0040 amending the Water Quality 
Enforcement Policy (Enforcement Policy).  Office of Administrative Law approved 
the Enforcement Policy and it became effective on July 30, 2002.  The 
Enforcement Policy addresses, among other enforcement subjects, issues related 
to assessing mandatory minimum penalties. 

 
8. For the purpose of determining a discharger’s compliance with effluent limitations 

in its WDRs, the 30-day average is equivalent to the monthly average, which is 
defined as the arithmetic mean of all daily determinations made during a calendar 
month.  Where less than daily sampling is required, the average shall be 
determined by the sum of all the measured daily determinations divided by the 
number of days during the calendar month when the measurements were made.  If 
only one sample is collected during that period of time, the value of the single 
sample shall constitute the monthly average. 

 
9. WDRs Order No. R1-2001-45 includes the following effluent limitations: 
 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS 
 

1. Representative samples from the following outfalls shall not contain 
constituents in excess of the following limits: 

 
Outfall No. 001B, 001H 

 
Constituent Units Daily Maximum 30-Day Average 

Suspended Solids mg/l 100 30 
Grease and Oil mg/l 20 15 
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2. There shall be no acute toxicity in the discharge to Humboldt Bay.  Effluents 
are considered acutely toxic when less than 90 percent survival 70 percent of 
the time based on any monthly median or less than 70 percent survival 100 
percent of the time. 

 
10. The Enforcement Policy states that for the purpose of determining serious 

violations, Total Suspended Solids (TSS) and Grease and Oil are identified as 
Group I pollutants in title 40 Code of Federal Regulations, section 123.45, 
Appendix A.  Acute Toxicity is neither a Group I nor Group II pollutant; therefore, 
exceedances of effluent limitations for Acute Toxicity do not count as serious 
violations. 

 
11. Effluent Limitation Violations 
 
 According to self-monitoring reports submitted by the Discharger from February 28, 

2001 through December 31, 2008, the Discharger exceeded effluent limitations 
seven times.  Five violations are considered “chronic violations” as described in 
Water Code section 13385 subdivision (i)(1).  Two violations are considered 
“serious” violations as described in California Water Code section 13385, 
subdivisions (h)(1) and (h)(2).  The mandatory minimum penalty amount for the 
violations as show in the table below is $6,000: 

 
Table 1:  Effluent Limitation Exceedances 

February 28, 2001 through December 31, 2008 
 

Date Parameter Units Reported 
Value 

Permit 
Limit 

Violation 
Type 

Mandatory 
Penalty 

09/30/01 Monthly TSS Limit mg/l 36 30 1st Chronic $0 

10/22/04 Acute Toxicity Limit % 50 ≥70 1st Chronic $0 

07/07/05 Monthly TSS Limit mg/l 34 30 1st Chronic $0 

08/14/08 Daily Grease and Oil 
Limit mg/l 33.3 20 Serious, 1st $3,000 

08/26/08 Daily Grease and Oil 
Limit mg/l 20.1 20 2nd Chronic $0 

08/31/08 Monthly Grease and 
Oil Limit mg/l 17 15 3rd Chronic $0 

10/09/08 Daily Grease and Oil 
Limit mg/l 30 20 Serious $3,000 

Total  $6,000 
 
12. Regional Water Board staff costs associated with this administrative civil liability 

complaint for effluent limit violations are estimated to be a minimum of $5,000.  
This includes staff time to tally violations and prepare this Complaint, public 
notices, public hearing, and response to comments. 
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THE PACIFIC GAS AND ELECTRIC COMPANY IS HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT: 
 
1. Based on a review of the above facts and legal requirements, the Assistant 

Executive Officer proposes that the Discharger be assessed mandatory minimum 
penalties in the amount of $6,000 for effluent limit violations that occurred from 
February 28, 2001 through December 31, 2008.   

 
2. The Regional Water Board will conduct a hearing on this Complaint on March 24, 

2010, unless the Discharger waives the right to a hearing pursuant to California 
Water Code section 13323 subdivision (b) by signing and returning the waiver form 
attached to this Complaint within thirty days of the date of this Complaint.  By doing 
so, the Discharger agrees to remit a check for the total assessed penalty of $6,000 
made payable to the “State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account” 
(CAA) by February 1, 2010. 

 
3. If the Discharger waives the right to hearing and agrees to pay the total proposed 

administrative civil liability of $6,000 in mandatory minimum penalties, the resulting 
settlement may become effective after the thirty-day public comment period for this 
Complaint ends, provided that there are no significant public comments on this 
Complaint during the public comment period.  If there are significant public 
comments, the Assistant Executive Officer may withdraw the Complaint, reissue it 
as appropriate, or take other appropriate action. 

 
4. If a hearing is held, the Regional Water Board may impose an administrative civil 

liability in the amount proposed or for a different amount; decline to seek civil 
liability; or refer the matter to the Attorney General to have a Superior Court 
consider enforcement. 

 
5. Regulations of the United States Environmental Protection Agency require public 

notification of any proposed settlement involving violations of the Clean Water Act, 
including NPDES permit violations.  Accordingly, interested persons will be given 
thirty days to comment on any proposed settlement of this Complaint. 

 
6. Issuance of this Complaint is an enforcement action and is therefore exempt from 

the provisions of the California Environmental Quality Act (Pub. Res. Code § 
21000 et seq.) Pursuant to title 14, California Code of Regulations sections 15308 
and 15321 subsection (a) (2). 

 
 
 
 
_________________________ 
Luis G. Rivera 
Assistant Executive Officer 
 
December 31, 2009 
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