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July 22, 2008 
 
 
 
Mr. Richard Culp, PE 
General Manager 
Humboldt County Resort Improvement District No. 1 
9126 Shelter Cove Road 
Whitethorn, CA  95589 
 
Dear Mr. Culp: 
 
Subject: Order No. R1-2008-0093 -  Notice of Violation and Conditional Offer to 

Participate in Expedited Payment Program Relating to Violations of NPDES 
Permit 

 
File: Humboldt County Resort Improvement District No. 1, Shelter Cove 

WDID No. 1B84086OHUM 
 
This letter is to notify the Humboldt County Resort Improvement District No. 1, Shelter 
Cove (hereinafter Permittee) of alleged violations of the California Water Code identified 
in the State Water Resources Control Board’s (State Water Board) water quality data 
system and to allow the Permittee to participate in the Water Boards’ Expedited 
Payment Program for Effluent or Reporting Violations (Expedited Payment Program) to 
address liability which may be assessed pursuant to Water Code sections 13385 and 
13385.1.   
  
NOTICE OF VIOLATION  
 
Based on information in the California Integrated Water Quality System (CIWQS) as of 
June 5, 2008, the North Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board (hereinafter 
Regional Water Board) alleges that the Permittee has violated the effluent limitations, 
reporting violations, or Water Code provisions  identified in the Notice of Violation (NOV) 
attached as Exhibit “A”.  The Permittee will have the opportunity to address the alleged 
violations as discussed below. 
 
STATUTORY LIABILITY 
 
Subdivisions (h) and (i) of California Water Code section 13385 require the assessment 
of a mandatory minimum penalty of $3,000 for each specified serious and chronic 
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effluent limit violation.  The Permittee is subject to discretionary administrative civil 
liabilities of up to $10,000 for each day in which the violation occurs, plus $10 for each 
gallon discharged but not cleaned up in excess of 1,000 gallons.  These mandatory 
minimum penalties and discretionary administrative civil liabilities may be assessed by a 
Regional Water Quality Control Board (Regional Water Board) or the State Water Board 
(collectively “the Water Boards”), beginning with the date that the violations first 
occurred1.  The formal enforcement action which the Water Boards use to assess such 
liability is an administrative civil liability complaint, although the Water Boards may 
instead refer such matters to the Attorney General’s Office for prosecution.  If referred to 
the Attorney General for prosecution, the Superior Court may assess up to $25,000 per 
violation.  In addition, the Superior Court may assess up to $25 per gallon discharged 
but not cleaned up in excess of 1,000 gallons. 
 
OFFER TO PARTICIPATE IN EXPEDITED PAYMENT PROGRAM   
 
The Permittee can avoid the issuance of a formal enforcement action and settle the 
alleged violations identified in the attached NOV by participating in the Water Boards’ 
Expedited Payment Program.  Details of the proposed settlement are described below 
and addressed in the enclosed documents. 
 
To promote resolution of these violations, the Regional Water Board makes this 
Conditional Offer.  The Permittee may accept this offer, waive the Permittee’s right to a 
hearing, and pay the mandatory minimum penalty of $6,000 for the violations described 
in the NOV.  If the Permittee elects to do so, subject to the conditions below, the 
Regional Water Board will accept that payment in settlement of any enforcement action 
that would otherwise arise out of the violations identified in the Notice of Violation.  
Accordingly, the Regional Water Board will forego issuance of a formal administrative 
complaint, will not refer the violations to the Attorney General, and will waive its right to 
seek additional discretionary civil liabilities for the violations identified in the NOV. 
 
The Expedited Payment Program does not address liability for any violation that is not 
specifically identified in the NOV.   
 

                                            
1 Please note that there are no statutes of limitation that apply to administrative proceedings to assess 
mandatory minimum penalties.  See City of Oakland v. Public Employees’ Retirement System, (2002) 95 
Cal.App.4th 29, 48; 3 Witkin, Cal. Procedure (4th ed. 1996) Actions, §405(2), p. 510.)  The Permittee has 
not been substantially prejudiced by the passage of time between the date(s) that Permittee reported the 
violations identified on Exhibit A and the date of this letter.  The Permittee was aware of the violations at 
the time it reported them to the Regional Board.  Regional Board staff’s limited enforcement resources 
and competing enforcement priorities provide a rational explanation for the delay.  In fact, the delay has 
actually benefited the Permittee because it extended the time before payment of the mandatory minimum 
penalties is due.  For these reasons, any delay is not unreasonable.   
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PERMITTEE’S OPTIONS FOR RESPONSE TO OFFER  
 
If the Permittee accepts this offer, please complete and return the enclosed 
“Acceptance of Conditional Offer and Waiver of Right to Hearing” (Acceptance and 
Waiver) on or before Aug 5, 2008. 
 
If the Permittee contests some but not all of the violations identified in the attached 
NOV, the Permittee may elect to reserve the right to address the contested matters and 
resolve any uncontested violations through the payment of the mandatory minimum 
penalty for each uncontested violation.  If the Permittee chooses this option, please 
communicate with the staff contact identified below to discuss the mechanism for 
memorializing that election on or before the due date. 
 
If the Permittee chooses to contest any of the violations alleged in the NOV, please 
identify the specific violation and the basis for the challenge (factual error, affirmative 
defense, etc.) on or before the due date.  The Regional Water Board staff will evaluate 
the contested violation and take one of two actions: 
 

1) The Regional Water Board staff will determine that the violation is not 
supported, expunge the alleged violation from  the CIWQS data base, take 
no further action against the Permittee for the alleged violation, and notify 
the Permittee of that determination;   

 
2) The Regional Water Board staff will determine that the alleged violation is 

meritorious, and will notify the Permittee of that determination.  The 
Permittee will be given thirty (30) days from the date of receipt of the 
Regional Water Board staff determination, to submit a supplemental 
Expedited Payment for each of those violations.  If the Permittee chooses 
not to make a payment in response to the determination, the Permittee 
should expect to be contacted regarding formal enforcement action that 
will be initiated with regard to the contested violations.   In a formal 
enforcement action, the liability amount sought and/or imposed may 
exceed the liability amount set forth in this Conditional Offer.  Please be 
advised that the cost of staff enforcement is a factor which can be 
considered in assessing the liability amount. 

  
CONDITIONS FOR REGIONAL WATER BOARD ACCEPTANCE OF RESOLUTION   
 
Federal regulations require the Regional Water Board to publish and allow the public 
thirty (30) days to comment on any settlement of an enforcement action addressing 
NDPES permit violations (40 C.F.R. section 123.27(d)(2)(iii)).  Upon receipt of the 
Permittee’s Acceptance and Waiver, the Regional Water Board staff will publish a notice 
of the proposed resolution of the violations.   
 
If no comments are received within the 30-day period, and unless there are new 
material facts that become available to the Regional Water Board, the Executive Officer 
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will execute the Acceptance and Waiver as a stipulated order assessing the 
uncontested mandatory minimum penalty amount pursuant to Water Code section 
13385.  
 
If, however, significant comments are received in opposition to the settlement, this Offer 
may be withdrawn.  In that case, the Permittee’s waiver pursuant to the Acceptance and 
Waiver will also be treated as withdrawn.  In that case, the unresolved violations will be 
addressed in a liability assessment proceeding.  At the liability assessment hearing, the 
Permittee will be free to make arguments as to any of the alleged violations, and the 
Permittee’s agreement to accept this conditional offer will not in any way be binding or 
used as evidence against the Permittee.  The Permittee will be provided with further 
information on the liability assessment proceeding. 
 
In the event the Acceptance and Waiver is executed by the Executive Officer, payment 
of the assessed amount shall be due within ten (10) calendar days after the Permittee’s 
receipt of the notice of the Executive Officer’s execution.  The $6,000 liability shall be 
paid by check to the “State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account” and 
submitted to the Regional Water Board office.  Failure to pay the penalty within the 
required time period may subject the Permittee to further liability.  
 
Should you have any questions about the Notice of Violation or the Conditional Offer, 
please contact Bill Rodriguez at 576-2683 or wrodriguez@waterboards.ca.gov 
regarding this matter. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
Luis G. Rivera 
Assistant Executive Officer 
 
Certified – Return Receipt Requested 
 
Enclosures: Exhibit “A” - Notice of Violation 

Acceptance of Conditional Resolution and Waiver of Right to Hearing 
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Exhibit “A” 
 

HUMBOLDT COUNTY RESORT IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT NO. 1 
SHELTER COVE 

NOTICE OF VIOLATION 
Order No. R1-2008-0093  

(January 1, 2000 – June 5, 2008)  
MANDATORY MINIMUM PENALTIES WITHOUT ENFORCEMENT 

 
The following table lists (based on information in CIWQS as of June 5, 2008) this 
facility’s alleged violations of subdivisions (h) and (i) of California Water Code section 
13385, from January 1, 2000 through June 5, 2008, for which the Regional Water Board 
has not previously assessed mandatory minimum penalties.  Calculation of MMP 
amounts owed and descriptions of the abbreviations that appear in the table are listed 
below.  For additional information about the alleged violations listed in the table, please 
refer to the SWRCB Public Reports webpage located at:    
http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/water_issues/programs/ciwqs/publicreports.shtml; 
choose the “MMP Report” link located under the “Enforcement Reports” category.  Once 
you are in the Public Reports search page, enter the search criteria that correspond to 
your facility to access the list of violations. 
 
 

HUMBOLDT COUNTY RESORT IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT NO. 1, SHELTER COVE 
CIWQS 
Violation 
ID 

Violation 
Date 

Violation 
Type 

MMP Type MMP 
Amount 

Violation Description 

184337 1/27/2000 OEV 1st 
Chronic 

$0 Failed to meet Daily range of between 6.0 and 
9.0 - reported at 2.71 

183639 11/21/2000 OEV 2nd 
Chronic 

$0 Exceeded Weekly average of 2.2 MPN for 
Coliform - reported at 4.4 MPN 

775112 3/10/05 CAT 1 Serious $3,000 Exceeded Daily Chlorine limit of 0.0 mg/l for 
Ocean Discharge - reported 6.0 mg/l 

748328 4/22/2008 CAT2 Serious $3,000 Exceeded Daily Chlorine limit of 0.0 mg/l for 
Ocean Discharge - reported 5.5 mg/l  
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Definition of Acronyms & Abbreviations 

 
 
 

CIWQS California Integrated Water Quality System database used by the Water Boards to 
manage violation and enforcement activities. 

Violation ID Identification number assigned to a violation in CIWQS.  
Violation 
Date 

Date that a violation actually occurred. For continuing violations, such as a monthly 
average, the last day of the reporting period is used. If the occurrence date is unknown, 
the date is entered as the day it was first discovered by staff, the Discharger, or a third 
party. For deficient or late reports, the occurrence date is the day after the report was due. 

Violation 
Type 

Classification of a violation. Two types of violations relate to MMPs:  
   1) Late Reporting Violations (LREP, DREP) 
   2) Effluent Violations (ATOX, CTOX, CAT1, CAT2, OEV) 

 LREP - Late reporting violation. Every 30 days a report is late counts as one late reporting 
violation. 

 DREP - Deficient reporting violation. Submittal of an incomplete report (i.e., missing 
signature, certification statement, laboratory identification, etc.) or failure to notify per a 
requirement (i.e., call out violation in self-monitoring report cover sheet) are considered to 
be deficient reporting violations. If the SMR calls out that monitoring was not completed, it 
will be recorded as deficient reporting. One violation is recorded for each deficient report. 

 ATOX - Violation of an acute toxicity effluent limitation.  
 CTOX - Violation of a chronic toxicity effluent limitation.  
 CAT1 - Violation of an effluent limitation for a Group I pollutant by more than 40%.  
 CAT2 - Violation of an effluent limitation for a Group II pollutant by more than 20%. 
 OEV - Violation of any constituent-specific effluent limitation not included in Group I or 

Group II.  
MMP Type Classification of the type of MMP violation, which is either Chronic or Serious.  
 Chronic - Chronic violation as defined by California Water Code section 13385 (i). To be 

counted as a chronic violation, there must be 3 preceding non-serious violations within a 
“rolling” 180 day period. The fourth non-serious violation that occurs within the 180 period 
is an MMP violation. A non-serious violation may be any one of the following: 
   a) exceeds WRD effluent limitations; 
   b) fails to file a report of waste discharge pursuant to California Water Code section 
13260; 
   c) files an incomplete report of waste discharge pursuant to California Water Code 
section 13260; or 
   d) exceeds a toxicity discharge limitation where the WDRs do not contain pollutant-
specific effluent       
       limitations for toxic pollutants. 

 Serious - Serious violation as defined by California Water Code section 13385 (h). Waste 
discharge exceeds the effluent limitation for a Group I pollutant by 40% or more (CAT1), 
or a Group II pollutant by 20% or more (CAT2). Also defined by California Water Code 
section 13385.1 as a failure to file a discharge monitoring report pursuant to Section 
13383 for each period of 30 days following the deadline for submitting the report, if the 
report is designed to ensure compliance with limitations contained in waste discharge 
requirements that contain effluent limitations. 

Violation 
Description 

Description of the violation. Includes report due date for late reports or indicates why 
deficient reports are deficient. For violations of permit conditions, summarizes the 
prohibition, specification, or provision that was violated and what the violation was. For 
effluent limit exceedances, lists the reporting period; constituent; limit; units; limitation 
period; and result. 
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