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In the Matter of 
Coast Wood Preserving, Inc. 

WDID No. 1 23I004224 
 

For 
 

Failure to File an Annual Storm Water Report 
for  Fiscal Year 2005-2006 

 
Mendocino County 

 
The Executive Officer of the California Regional Water Quality Control Board, North 
Coast Region (hereinafter Regional Water Board), hereby gives notice that: 
 
1. Coast Wood Preserving, Inc. (hereinafter Discharger) operates a wood preserving 

treatment site at 3150 Taylor Drive, Ukiah, California (hereinafter Facility). 
 
2. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency issued regulations for storm water 

discharges on November 16, 1990.  Subsequently, the State Water Resources 
Control Board (State Water Board) adopted Water Quality Order No. 91-013-DWQ, 
National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) General Permit No. 
CAS000001, Waste Discharge Requirements for Discharges of Storm Water 
Associated with Industrial Activities Excluding Construction Activities (hereinafter 
General Permit).  On September 17, 1992, the State Water Board amended the 
General Permit, and on August 17, 1997, the State Water Board issued Order No. 
97-03-DWQ, which revised and replaced the General Permit. 

 
3. Provision E(1) of the General Permit requires that all facility operators seeking 

coverage under the General Permit file a Notice of Intent (NOI) for each of the 
facilities they operate.  The Discharger filed a NOI for the Coast Wood Preserving, 
Inc. site on August 11, 2006, and was assigned WDID No. 1 23I004224 for the 
Facility. 

 
4. Section B(14) of the General Permit requires that all facility operators submit an 

Annual Report by July 1st of each year to the Executive Officer of the Regional 
Water Board responsible for the area in which the facility is located. 

 
5. The Discharger failed to submit its 2005-2006 Annual Report for the Facility by July 

1, 2006. 
 
6. California Water Code section 13399.31(b) requires a Regional Water Board to 

provide Notice of Noncompliance to a discharger who has failed to submit an 
Annual Report.  Should a discharger who is so notified fail to submit an Annual 
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Report within 30 days of notification, Section 13399.31(c) requires that the 
Regional Water Board’s Executive Officer send a second notice to that discharger. 
Subsection (d) requires the Regional Board to impose penalties if the Discharger 
fails to submit the annual report within 60 days from the first notice. 

 
7. On August 7, 2006, the Executive Officer issued the first Notice of Noncompliance 

to the Discharger citing failure to submit the 2005-2006 Annual Report.  The 
Discharger did not respond to this Notice.  On September 14, 2006, the Executive 
Office issued the second Notice of Noncompliance letter to the Discharger. 

 
8. The Discharger has failed to submit the 2005-2006 Annual Report for the facility as 

of April 25, 2007.  Under Water Code section 13399.31, subdivision (d), if the 
discharger fails to submit an annual report within 60 days from the date the second 
notice is sent, the Regional Water Board shall impose the penalties described in 
Water Code section 13399.33, subdivision (c).  The minimum penalty under Water 
Code section 13399.33, subdivision (c) is $1,000 in addition to the costs incurred 
by the Regional Water Board.  . 

 
9. The issuance of a Complaint for Administrative Civil Liability does not have the 

potential to result in a physical change in the environment and, therefore, is not a 
“project” subject to the provisions of the California Environmental Quality Act 
(CEQA) (Public Resources Code section 21000 et seq.).  It is also exempt from 
CEQA in accordance with title 14, California Code of Regulations, section 15321, 
subsection (a)(2). 

 
10. A hearing shall be conducted on this Complaint by the Regional Water Board on 

July 25, 2007, unless the Discharger waives the right to a hearing by signing and 
returning the waiver form attached to this Complaint within thirty days of the date of 
this Complaint.  By doing so, the Discharger agrees to pay the assessed penalty in 
full within thirty days of the date of this Complaint. 
  

11. If a hearing is held, the Regional Water Board may impose an administrative civil 
liability in the amount proposed or for a different amount, decline to seek civil 
liability, or refer the matter to the Attorney General to have a Superior Court 
consider enforcement. 

 
12. Regulations of the United States Environmental Protection Agency require public 

notification of any proposed settlement of the civil liability occasioned by violation of 
the Clean Water Act, including NPDES permit violations.  Accordingly, interested 
persons will be given thirty days to comment on any proposed settlement of this 
Complaint.  The settlement will become effective on the next day after the public 
comment period for this Complaint is closed, provided that there are no significant 
public comments on this Complaint during the public comment period.  If there are 
significant public comments, the Executive Officer may withdraw the Complaint and 
reissue it as appropriate. 
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THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Discharger pay an Administrative 
Civil Liability in the amount of $3,000 due and payable to the State Water Resources 
Control Board, Waste Discharger Permit Fund, within thirty days of the date of this 
Complaint. 
 
 
 
 

_________________________ 
Catherine E. Kuhlman 
Executive Officer 

 
May 14, 2007 
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