California Regional Water Quality Control Board
North Coast Region

Administrative Civil Liability Complaint No. R1-2006-0094
Mandatory Minimum Penalties

For

Violations of Waste Discharge Requirements
Order No. 98-50, and Order No. R1-2003-0044
(WDID No. 1B840860HUM)

NPDES No. CA0023027

In The Matter Of
Humboldt County Resort Improvement District No. 1
Shelter Cove Wastewater Treatment Facility

Humboldt County

This Complaint to assess mandatory minimum penalties and administrative civil liability
pursuant to California Water Code 13385 (Complaint) is issued to the Humboldt County
Resort Improvement District No. 1 (hereinafter Discharger) for violations of Waste
Discharge Requirements Order No. R1-2003-0044 (NPDES Permit No. CA0023027) for
the period of January 1, 2000 through April 30 2006.

The Executive Officer of the Regional Water Board finds the following:

1.

The Discharger owns and operates the Shelter Cove wastewater treatment
facility that serves the sewered portions of the District. Wastewater receives
secondary treatment and is discharged to the Pacific Ocean via an outfall with a
dilution ratio of 50:1. During the spring and summer months some or all of the
effluent is used to irrigate the Discharger’s nine-hole golf course.

The Regional Water Board adopted Waste Discharge Requirements Order No.
98-50 for the discharger on May 29, 1998. This order was rescinded on May 15,
2003 and the discharger is currently regulated by Order No. R1-2003-0044
adopted on May 15, 2003. Both orders serve(d) as National Pollutant Discharge
Elimination System Permits (NPDES) under the federal Clean Water Act.

This Complaint covers violations of effluent limitations that occurred during the
periods of discharge to receiving waters from January 1, 2000 to April 30, 2006.
The details of these violations are presented in Finding 14 of this Complaint.
Violations in Finding 15 are subject to the mandatory minimum penalties
provision contained in Water Code section 13385, subdivisions (h) through (1).
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4. Water Code section 13385, subdivision (h)(1) requires the Regional Water Board
to assess a mandatory minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for
each serious violation of an NPDES permit effluent limitation.

5. Water Code section 13385, subdivision (h)(2) states that a serious violation
occurs if the discharge from a facility regulated by an NPDES permit exceeds the
effluent limitations for a Group | pollutant, as specified in Appendix A to Section
123.45 of Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations, by 40 percent or more, or for a
Group Il pollutant, as specified in Appendix A to Section 123.45 of Title 40 Code
of Federal Regulations, by 20 percent or more.

6. Water Code section 13385, subdivision (i)(1) requires the Regional Water Board
to assess a mandatory minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for
each violation, not counting the first three violations, if the discharger does any of
the following four or more times in any six-month period:

Exceeds a waste discharge requirement effluent limitation.

Fails to file a report pursuant to Section 13260.

Files an incomplete report pursuant to Section 13260.

Exceeds a toxicity discharge limitation where the waste discharge
requirements do not contain pollutant-specific effluent limitations for toxic
pollutants.

aoow

Violations under section 13385, subdivision (i)(1) are referred to as chronic
violations in this Complaint.

7. On February 19, 2002, the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water
Board) adopted Resolution No. 2002-0040 amending the Water Quality
Enforcement Policy (Enforcement Policy). The Enforcement Policy was
approved by the Office of Administrative Law and became effective on July 30,
2002. The Enforcement Policy addresses, among other enforcement subjects,
issues related to assessing mandatory minimum penalties.

8. Water Code section 13385, subdivision (I)(1) provides that a portion of
mandatory minimum penalties imposed under section 13385, subdivisions (h) or
(i) may be directed to a supplemental environmental project (SEP) at the
discretion of the Regional Water Board and in accordance with Section IX of the
Enforcement Policy of the State Water Board. If the penalty amount exceeds
fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000), the portion of the penalty amount that may be
directed to a supplemental environmental project may not exceed fifteen
thousand dollars ($15,000) plus 50 percent of the penalty amount that exceeds
fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000). This Complaint includes conditions regarding
SEPs as specified in the Enforcement Policy.
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Water Code section 13385, subdivision (k)(1) provides that the Regional Water
Board may, in its discretion, elect to allow all or a portion of mandatory minimum
penalties imposed under section 13385, subdivisions (h) or (i) against a POTW
serving an eligible small community to be directed to a compliance project (CP)
in accordance with Section X of the Enforcement Policy of the State Water board.
This Complaint includes conditions regarding CPs as specified in the
Enforcement Policy.

For the purpose of compliance determinations, the 30-day average is equivalent
to the monthly average, which is defined as the arithmetic mean of all daily
determinations made during a calendar month. Where less than daily sampling
is required, the average shall be determined by the sum of all the measured daily
discharges divided by the number of days during the calendar month when the
measurements were made. If only one sample is collected during that period of
time, the value of the single sample shall constitute the monthly average.

For the purpose of compliance determinations, the 7-day average is equivalent to
the weekly average, which is defined as the arithmetic mean of all daily
determinations made during a calendar week, Sunday to Saturday. Where less
than daily sampling is required, the average shall be determined by the sum of all
the measured daily discharges divided by the number of days during the
calendar week when the measurements were made. If only one sample is
collected during that period of time, the value of the single sample shall constitute
the weekly average.

Portions of Order Nos. 98-50 and R1-2003-0044 that are subject to mandatory
minimum penalties include the following effluent limitations:

B. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS

1. Representative samples of the discharge to the Pacific Ocean, through Outfall No.
001, shall not contain constituents in excess of the following limitations.
TABLE A
MAJOR WASTEWATER CONSTITUENTS
Monthly Weekly Daily
Units Average’ Average’ Maximum
Total Coliform MPN/100 ml 23° 230

3

The arithmetic mean of the values for effluent samples collected in a period of 30 consecutive days.
The arithmetic mean of the values for effluent samples collected in a period of seven consecutive days.

Median
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The average percent removal of BOD and suspended solids in any consecutive 30
day period shall not be less than 85 percent, as determined by analysis of influent
and effluent samples collected at approximately the same time.

13. The Enforcement Policy states that for the purpose of determining serious
violations, suspended solids are identified as Group | pollutants in Title 40 Code of
Federal Regulations, Section 123.45, Appendix A. Total Coliform is neither a
Group | nor a Group Il pollutant; therefore, exceedences of effluent limitations for
total coliform bacteria do not count as serious violations.

14. According to monitoring reports submitted by the Discharger for the period
between January 1, 2000, and April 30, 2006, the Discharger had 13 serious
violations in accordance with Water Code section 13385, subdivision (h) and five
chronic violations in accordance with CWC section 13385, subdivision (i)(1). The
mandatory minimum penalty amount for those violations is $45,000 as shown in
the following table:

Effluent Limitation Exceedances
January 1, 2000 to April 30, 2006

Date Description of Reported Limits Violation | Mandatory
Violation Value Type Minimum
Penalty
01/31/00| % Removal of TSS 78% 85% Serious $3000
03/31/00| % Removal of TSS 20% 85% Serious $3000
09/30/00| % Removal of TSS 50% 85% Serious $3000
11/30/00| % Removal of TSS 59% 85% Serious $3000
03/31/00| % Removal of TSS 46% 85% Serious $3000
05/31/01| % Removal of TSS 79% 85% 1% Chronic $0
07/31/01| % Removal of TSS 80% 85% 2"% Chronic $0
09/31/01 %Removal of TSS 35% 85% Serious $3000
10/30/01 %Removal of TSS 83% 85% Chronic $3000
01/31/02) % Removal of TSS 32% 85% Serious $3000
02/28/02) % Removal of TSS 69% 85% Serious $3000
03/31/02) % Removal of TSS 76% 85% Serious $3000
04/11/02 Exceeded Daily 500 MPN/100 230 Chronic $3000
Maximum Coliform Limit ml MPN/100 ml
01/31/03| % Removal of TSS 68% 85% Serious $3000
12/31/03| % Removal of TSS 76% 85% Serious $3000
12/31/03| % Removal of BOD 74% 85% Serious $3000
01/04/04, % Removal of TSS 7% 85% Serious $3000
02/17/05 Exceeded Daily 1600 230 1% Chronic $0
Maximum Coliform Limit| MPN/100 ml | MPN/100 ml
TOTAL $45,000
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The total amount of mandatory minimum penalties for violations occurring during
the period January 1, 2000, through April 30, 2006 is $45,000. Regional Water
Board staff costs associated with this enforcement action amount to
approximately $10,000 at this time, including staff time to tally violations and
prepare this Complaint, public notices, public hearing, response to comments,
and evaluation and tracking of a Compliance Project, if any, through to
completion.

The issuance of this Complaint is an enforcement action to protect the
environment, and is therefore exempt from the environmental document
preparation provisions of the California Environmental Quality Act (Public
Resources Code Section 21000 et seq.) pursuant to Title 14, California Code of
Regulations, sections 15308 and 15321, subsection (a)(2).

THE HUMBOLDT COUNTY RESORT IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT NO. 1 IS HEREBY
GIVEN NOTICE THAT:

1.

The Executive Officer of the Regional Water Board proposes that the Discharger
be assessed a mandatory minimum penalty in the amount of $45,000 for
effluent violations that occurred from January 1, 2000, through April 30, 2006.

A hearing shall be conducted on this Complaint by the Regional Water Board on
October 18, 2006, unless the Discharger waives the right to a hearing within 90
days under Water Code section 13323, subsection (b) by signing and returning
the waiver form attached to this Complaint within 30 days of the date of this
Complaint. By doing so, the Discharger agrees to:

a. Pay the mandatory minimum penalty of $45,000 in full to the State Water
Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account within 30 days of the date of
this Complaint, or

b. Propose an SEP in an amount up to $30,000 and pay the balance of the
penalty, which is $15,000, within 30 days from the date of the Complaint
(or in compliance with a payment schedule issued in writing by the
Executive Officer). The sum of the proposed SEP amount and the amount
of the fine to be paid to the State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement
Account shall equal the full penalty.

C. Propose a CP in the amount up to $35,000 and pay the $10,000 balance
of the penalty (to recover staff costs) within 30 days from the date of the
Complaint (or in compliance with a payment schedule issued in writing by
the Executive Officer). The sum of the proposed CP amount and the
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amount of the fine to be paid to the State Water Pollution Cleanup and
Abatement Account shall equal the full penalty.

3. If the Discharger chooses to propose an SEP or CP, a proposal must be
submitted within 30 days of the date of this Complaint to the Executive Officer for
conceptual approval. Any SEP or CP proposal shall also conform to the
requirements specified in the Enforcement Policy. The SEP or CP proposal must
include a time schedule, for concurrence by the Executive Officer, to address
implementation and completion of the SEP or CP. If the proposed SEP or CP
and/or implementation schedule is not acceptable, the Executive Officer may
allow the Discharger 30 days to submit a new or revised proposal, or may
demand that, during the same 30 day period the Discharger remit all or a portion
of the assigned penalties. All payments, including money not used for the SEP
or CP, must be payable to the State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement
Account.

4. If the Discharger waives the hearing and pays the liability, the resulting
settlement may become effective on the next day after the public comments on
this Complaint during the public comment period. If there are significant public
comments, the Executive Officer may withdraw the Complaint, reissue it as
appropriate, or take other appropriate action.

5. If a hearing is held, the Regional Water Board may impose an administrative civil
liability in the amount proposed or for a different amount; decline to seek civil
liability; or refer the matter to the Attorney General to have a Superior Court
consider enforcement.

6. Regulations of the United States Environmental Protection Agency require public
notification of any proposed settlement of the civil liability occasioned by violation
of the Clean Water Act, including NPDES permit violations. Accordingly,
interested persons will be given 30 days to comment on any proposed settlement
of this Complaint.

7. In the event that the Discharger is required to pay a previously suspended
penalty amount, payment of the previously suspended penalty amount does not
relieve the Discharge of the independent obligation to take necessary actions to
achieve compliance.

8. The Executive Officer shall maintain oversight over approved SEP and CP
implementation time schedules throughout the life of the SEP or CP. If, given
written justification from the Discharger, the Executive Officer determines that a
delay in the SEP or CP implementation schedule was beyond the reasonable
control of the Discharger; the Executive Officer may revise the implementation
schedule as appropriate.
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9. All payments, including money not used for the SEP or CP and or previously
suspended liabilities assessed for failure to comply with the SEP or CP must be
payable to the State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account.

10.  Not withstanding the issuance of the Compliant, the Regional Water Board shall
retain the authority to assess additional penalties beyond the mandatory
minimums for violations of the Discharger’s waste discharge requirements.

Catherine E. Kuhlman
Executive Officer

August 22, 2006
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