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For 
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The Executive Officer of the California Regional Water Quality Control Board, North 
Coast Region (hereinafter Regional Water Board), hereby gives notice that: 
 

1. Dura Glass Products (hereinafter the Discharger) operated Dura Glass Products site, a 
glass, fiberglass, and plumbing equipment manufacturing facility located at 1500A 
Copperhill Pkwy in Santa Rosa, California (hereinafter Facility). 

 
2. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency issued regulations for storm water 

discharges on November 16, 1990.  Subsequently, the State Water Resources Control 
Board (State Water Board) adopted Water Quality Order No. 91-013-DWQ, National 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) General Permit No. CAS000001, 
Waste Discharge Requirements for Discharges of Storm Water Associated with 
Industrial Activities Excluding Construction Activities (hereinafter General Permit).  
On September 17, 1992, the State Water Board amended the General Permit, and on 
August 17, 1997, the State Water Board issued Order No. 97-03-DWQ, which revised 
and replaced the General Permit. 

 
3. Provision E(1) of the General Permit requires that all facility operators seeking 

coverage under the General Permit file a Notice of Intent (NOI) for each of the facilities 
they operate.  Dura Glass Products filed a NOI for the Dura Glass Products site on 
November 5, 1998, and was assigned WDID No. 1 49I014731 for the operation. 
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4. Provision E(3) and Section B(14) of the General Permit require that all facility 
operators submit an Annual report by July 1st of each year to the Executive Officer of 
the Regional Water Board responsible for the area in which the facility is located. 

 
5. The Discharger failed to submit its 2003-04 annual report for the Facility by July 1, 

2004. 
 

6. California Water Code (CWC) Section 13399.31(b) requires a Regional Water Board to 
provide notice of noncompliance to a discharger who has failed to submit an annual 
report.  Should a discharger who is so notified fail to submit an annual report within 30 
days of notification, Section 13399.31(c) requires that the Regional Water Board’s 
Executive Officer send a second notice to that discharger. 

 
7. On August 3, 2004, the Executive Officer issued the first Notice of Noncompliance to 

the Discharger related to the failure to submit the 2003-04 annual report.  The 
Discharger accepted certified mail of this Notice.  On September 3, 2004, the Executive 
Office issued the second Notice of Noncompliance letter to the Discharger.  The 
discharger did not accept certified mail of this Notice. 

 
8. CWC Section 13399.25 provides that CWC Division 7, Chapter 5.9, which includes 

CWC Section 13399.33, “supplement, and does not supplant, other laws relating to the 
discharge of storm water.”   

 
9. CWC Section 13323 states, in part: 

 
“(a)… any executive officer of a regional board may issue a complaint to any person 
on whom administrative civil liability may be imposed pursuant to this article.” 

 
10. The Discharger did not submit the 2003-04 annual report for the facility.  Failure to 

submit the 2003-04 annual report has resulted in the discharger being in violation of the 
General Permit for 1-1/2 years.  The total mandatory minimum penalty under CWC 
Section 13399.33(c) is $1,000.  

 
11. The annual report for 2003-04 is still required.  If the Annual report is not received 

within 30 days of this Complaint, further penalties may occur under CWC Section 
13383.5(c)(7) and Section 13385(c)(1). 
 

12. The issuance of a Complaint for Administrative Civil Liability does not have the 
potential to result in a physical change in the environment and is, therefore, not a 
“project” subject to the provisions of the California Environmental Quality Act 
(CEQA) (Public Resources Code Section 21000 et seq.).  A Complaint is an 
enforcement action and is exempt from CEQA in accordance with Title 14, California 
Code of Regulations, Section 15321(a)(2). 
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13. A hearing shall be conducted on this Complaint by the Regional Water Board on 
March 8,2006, unless the Discharger waives the right to a hearing by signing and 
returning the waiver form attached to this Complaint within 30 days of the date of this 
Complaint. By doing so, the Discharger agrees to pay the penalty in fidl within 30 
days of the date of this Complaint (or in compliance with a payment schedule issued 
in writing by the Executive Officer). 

14. If a hearing is held, the Regional Water Board may impose an administrative civil 
liability in the amount proposed or for a different atnount, decline to seek civil 
liability, or refer the matter to the Attorney General to have a Superior Court consider 
enforcement. 

15. Regulations of the United States Environmental Protection Agency require public 
notification of any proposed settlement of the civil liability occasioned by violation of 
the Clean Water Act, including NPDES permit violations. Accordingly, interested 
persons will be given 30 days to comment on any proposed settlement of this 
Complaint. The settlement will become effective on the next day after the public 
comment period for this Complaint is closed, provided that there are no significant 
public comments on this Complaint during the public comment period. If there are 
significant public comments, the Executive Officer may withdraw the Complaint and 
reissue it as appropriate. 

THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT Dura Glass Products shall pay an 
Administrative Civil Liability in the amount of $1,000, due and payable to the State 
Water Resources Control Board, Waste Discharger Permit Fund, within 30 days of the 
issuance of this Complaint. 

Waiver of Hearing 

Dura Glass Products may waive the right to a Mure hearing, if it so chooses, by signing 
the enclosed Waiver and returning it together with a cashier's check or money order, 
made payable to the '"State Water Resources Control Board," for the $11 amount of the 
proposed civil liability, within 30 days of the date of this Complaint. The waiver and 
checkhnoney order should be submitted to the California Regional Water Quality Control 
Board, North Coast Region, 5550 Skylane Boulevard, Suite A, Santa Rosa, CA 95403. 
Penalty monies will be deposited into the Waste Discharge Permit Fund. 

//&[& 
Catherine E. Kuhlman 

Executive Officer 

February 24,2006 


