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This Complaint to assess the mandatory minimum penalty pursuant to California Water Code 
(CWC) Sections 13385(h) and 13385.1 is issued to the Crescent City Harbor District (hereinafter 
Permittee) based on a finding of failure to timely submit a discharger monitoring report required 
pursuant to CWC Section 13383 as prescribed by Order No. R1-2004-0024 
(NPDES No. CA0024473) and the associated monitoring and reporting program. 
 
The Executive Officer of the Regional Water Quality Control Board, North Coast Region 
(Regional Water Board) finds the following: 
 
1. The Permittee operates a seafood processing wastewater treatment facility (hereinafter 

facility) located at Crescent City Harbor in Crescent City, California.  The Permittee can 
discharge up to 800,000 gallons per day (gpd) of processed wastewater through the 
Crescent City municipal wastewater treatment plant outfall point south of the Battery 
Point Lighthouse (Latitude 41°44’38”, Longitude 124°12’38”).  The water is susceptible 
of containing pollutants which can degrade water quality and impact beneficial uses of 
water, and which are defined as pollutants under the Federal Clean Water Act.  The 
pollutants are discharged through the Crescent City municipal wastewater treatment plant 
into the Pacific Ocean, a navigable water of the United States. 

 
2. On May 12, 2004, the Regional Water Board adopted Order No. R1-2004-0024, which 

prescribes waste discharge requirements and serves as an NPDES permit 
(1B80073OHUM) for the discharge of treated wastes from the facility to the Pacific 
Ocean. 
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3. Among the provisions in the Permittee's waste discharge requirements are the 
requirements to implement a discharge monitoring program and to prepare and submit a 
monthly NPDES self-monitoring report to the Regional Water Board pursuant to the 
authority of CWC Section 13383. 

4, The Regional Water ~oardr&eived the Permittee's June 2004 monthly monitoring report 
on September 24,2004 a total of 55 days after the due date of July 3 I, 2004. 

5. CWC Section 1338502) requires the Regional Water Board to assess a mandatory 
minimum penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each serious violation. CWC 
Section 13385.1(a)(l) identifies the failure to timely file a discharge monitoring report 
required pursuant to CWC Section 13383 for each complete period of 30 days following 
the deadline fsr submitting the report as a "serious violation." 

YOU ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE THAT: 

The Executive Officer proposes that the Permittee be assessed a mandat~ry minimum 
penalty in the amount of $3,000 for submittal of the June 2004 monthly discharger 
monitoring report 55 days late. 

A hearing shall be conducted on this Complaint by the Regional Water Board within 90 
days after service of this Complaint on the Permittee pursuant to CWC Section 13323. 
The Regional Water Board will hold a hearing on April 20,2005, unless the Permittee 
waives the right to a hearing by signing and returning the Waiver form attached to this 
Complaint within 30 days of this Complaint. By doing so, the Permittee a p e s  to pay the 
mandatory penalty of $3,000 in full within 30 days of the date of this Complaint. 

Notwithstanding the issuance of the Complaint, the Regional Water Board shall retain the 
authority to assess additional penalties for violations of the requirements of the 
Pennittee's waste discharge requirements. 

This enforcemerlt action is exempt fiom the provisions of the California Environmental 
Quality Act (California Public Resources Code Section 21 000et seq.) in accordance with 
California Code of Regulations, TitIe 14 Section 15321. 

Regulations of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency require public notification of 
any proposed settlement of the civil liability occasioned by violation of the Clean Water 
Act including NPDES permit violations. Accordingly, interested persons will be given 
30 days to comment on any prop0se.d settlement of this Camplaint. 

Ordered by 
a&r!ne E. Kuhlman 

Executive Officer 

February 15,2005 


