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of 
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WDID No. 1B83118OMEN 
 

Mendocino County 
 

This Complaint to assess mandatory minimum penalties pursuant to California Water Code 
Section 13385(h) and/or (i) is issued to the Mendocino County Water Works District No. 2 and 
(hereafter referred to as the Discharger) for violations of Waste Discharge Requirements Order 
No. 97-24 (NPDES Permit No. CA0024040) for the period January 5, 2000 through March 9, 
2004. 
 
The Executive Officer finds the following: 
 

1. On March 27, 1997, the Regional Water Quality Control Board, Region, (Regional 
Water Board) adopted Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. 97-24 (Order No. 
97-24), for the Mendocino County Water Works District No. 2 to regulate discharges 
of waste from its Anchor Bay Wastewater Treatment Facility.  This Order required 
the Discharger to implement a discharge monitoring program and to prepare and 
submit monthly NPDES self-monitoring reports to the Regional Water Board. 

 
2. This Complaint covers violations of effluent limitations that occurred during periods 

of discharge to receiving waters for the period of January 5, 2000 through March 9, 
2004.  The details of these violations are summarized in Findings 11 through 14 of 
this Complaint.  These violations are subject to the mandatory minimum penalties 
provision contained in Sections 13385(h) through (l) of the California Water Code. 

 
3. California Water Code Section 13385(h)(1) requires the Regional Water Board to 

assess a mandatory penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each serious 
violation. 
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4. California Water Code Section 13385(h)(2) states that a serious violation occurs if the 
discharge from a facility regulated by an NPDES permit exceeds the effluent 
limitations for a Group I pollutant, as specified in Appendix A to Section 123.45 of 
Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations, by 40 percent or more, or for a Group II 
pollutant, as specified in Appendix B to Section 123.45 of Title 40 Code of Federal 
Regulations, by 20 percent or more. 

 
5. California Water Code Section 13385(i)(1) requires the Regional Water Board to 

assess a mandatory penalty of three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each violation, not 
counting the first three violations, if the discharger does any of the following four or 
more times in any six-month period: 

 
a. Violates a waste discharge requirement effluent limitation. 
b. Fails to file a report pursuant to Section 13260. 
c. Files an incomplete report pursuant to Section 13260. 
d. Violates a toxicity discharge limitation where the waste discharge 

requirements do not contain pollutant-specific effluent limitations for toxic 
pollutants. 

 
Violations under Section 13385(i)(1) of the California Water Code are referred to as 
chronic violations in this Complaint. 

 
6. On February 19, 2002, the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) 

adopted Resolution No. 2002-0040 amending the Water Quality Enforcement Policy 
(Enforcement Policy).  The Enforcement Policy was approved by the Office of 
Administrative Law and became effective on July 30, 2002.  The Enforcement Policy 
addresses, amongst other enforcement issues, issues related to assessing mandatory 
minimum penalties. 

 
7. CWC Section 13385(l)(1) provides that a portion of mandatory minimum penalties 

imposed against a POTW serving an eligible small community under CWC 13385(h) 
or (i) may be directed to a supplemental environmental project (SEP) in accordance 
with Section IX of the Enforcement Policy of the State Water Board.  If the penalty 
amount exceeds fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000), the portion of the penalty amount 
that may be directed to a supplemental environmental project may not exceed fifteen 
thousand dollars ($15,000) plus 50 percent of the penalty amount that exceeds fifteen 
thousand dollars ($15,000).  This Complaint includes requirements for SEPs as 
specified in the Enforcement Policy. 

 
8. CWC Section 13385(k)(1) provides that a portion of mandatory minimum penalties 

imposed against a POTW serving an eligible small community under CWC 13385(h) 
or (i) may be directed to a or compliance project (CP) in accordance with Section X, 
of the Enforcement Policy of the State Water Board.  This Complaint includes 
requirements for CPs as specified in the Enforcement Policy. 
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9. Order No. 97-24 included the following effluent limitations and toxicity discharge 
limitations: 

 
B. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS 

 
1. Wastes discharged to the Pacific Ocean (Discharge Serial 002) shall not 

contain constituents in excess of the following limits (Table A and Table B 
constituents are as described and defined in the California Ocean Plan, 
adopted on March 22, 1990): 

 
TABLE A 

MAJOR WASTEWATER CONSTITUENTS 
 
Constituent 

 
Unit 

30-Day 
Average a 

7-Day 
Average c 

Daily 
Maximum 

BOD5 mg/l 

lbs/day d 

30 

5.0 

45 

7.4 

60 

10.0 

Suspended Solids mg/l 

lbs/day d 

--- e 

 

--- 

 

60 

10.0 

pH pH Units Within limits of 6.0 and 9.0 at all times 

Acute Toxicity TUa 1.5 2.0 2.5 

Total Coliform 
Organisms 

MPN/100ml 23 b --- 230 

 
TABLE B 

TOXIC MATERIALS LIMITATIONS 
 
Constituent 

  
Unit 

6-Month 
Median 

Daily 
Maximum 

Total Chlorine Residual  mg/l 

lbs/day d 

0.072 

0.60 

0.288 

2.40 
 

a. The arithmetic mean of the values for effluent samples collected in a period of 30 
consecutive days 

b. median 
c. The arithmetic mean of the values for effluent samples collected in a period of 7 

consecutive days 
d. The daily discharge (lbs/day) is obtain from the following calculation for any calendar day: 

 

 Daily Discharge (lb/day) =  CQ
N

8.34
ii

N

i
∑  
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In which N is the number of samples analyzed in any calendar day. Qi and Ci are the flow rate 
(mgd) and the constituent concentration (mg/l), respectively, which are associated with each 
of the N grab samples which may be taken in any calendar day.  If a composite sample is 
taken, Ci is the concentration measured in the composite sample; and Qi is the average flow 
rate occurring during the period over which samples are composited. 
 

e. The permittee shall, as a 30-day average, remove 75 percent of the suspended solids form 
the influent stream before discharging to the ocean. 

 
10. The February 19, 2002 State Water Resources Control Board Water Quality 

Enforcement Policy states that for the purpose of determining serious violations, total 
residual chlorine is identified as a Group II pollutant in Title 40 Code of Federal 
Regulations, Section 123.45, Appendix B.  Turbidity and total coliform are neither 
Group I nor Group II pollutants, therefore they have no serious threshold. 

 
11. According to monitoring reports submitted by the Permittee, the Permittee exceeded 

ten effluent limitations during the 180-day period from October 1, 2000 to March 29, 
2001.  Of those ten exceedances, two were serious violations in accordance with 
CWC Section 13385 (h) and eight were chronic effluent violations in accordance with 
CWC Section 13385 (i)(1.  The mandatory penalty amount for those violations is 
$21,000 as shown in the following table: 

 
Table 1. Effluent Limitation Exceedances 

January 5, 2000 through June 2, 2000 
Violation 

Date 
Description of Violation Violation 

Type 
Mandatory

Penalty 
01/05/00 Exceeded Daily Maximum BOD Limitation 

of 10.0 lbs/day  (12.5 lbs/day) 
1st Chronic NO MMP 

01/05/00 Exceeded Daily Maximum Suspended Solids 
Limitation of 10 lbs/day  (11.1 lbs/day μg/l) 

2nd Chronic NO MMP 

03/22/00 Exceeded Daily Maximum BOD Limitation 
of 10.0 lbs/day  (10.1 lbs/day) 

3rd Chronic NO MMP 

04/12/00 Exceeded Daily Maximum BOD Limitation 
of 10.0 lbs/day  (12.6 lbs/day) 

4th Chronic $3,000 

04/12/00 Exceeded Daily Maximum Suspended Solids 
Limitation of 10.0 lbs/day  (14.9 lbs/day) 

Serious $3,000 

04/15/00 Exceeded Daily Maximum Suspended Solids 
Limitation of 10.0 lbs/day  (14.5 lbs/day) 

Serious $3,000 

04/19/00 Exceeded Daily Maximum Suspended Solids 
Limitation of 10.0 lbs/day (10.4 lbs/day) 

Chronic $3,000 

04/30/00 Failed to Meet 75% Removal for Suspended 
Solids for April 2000 (54%) 

Chronic $3,000 

05/03/00 Exceeded Daily Maximum BOD Limitation 
of 10.0 lbs/day  (10.1 lbs/day) 

Chronic $3,000 

05/03/00 Exceeded Daily Maximum Suspended Solids 
Limitation of 10.0 lbs/day  (12.4 lbs/day) 

Chronic $3,000 

Total $21,000 
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12. According to monitoring reports submitted by the Permittee, the Permittee exceeded 
five effluent limitations during the 180-day period from September 9, 2001 to  
January 4, 2002.  Of those five exceedances, two were serious violations in 
accordance with CWC Section 13385 (h) and three were chronic effluent violations in 
accordance with CWC Section 13385 (i)(1).  The mandatory penalty amount for those 
violations is $9,000 as shown in the following table: 

 
Table 2. Effluent Limitation Exceedances 

September 9, 2001 through January 4, 2002 
Violation 

Date 
Description of Violation Violation 

Type 
Mandatory

Penalty 
11/21/01 Exceeded Daily Maximum BOD Limitation 

of 10.0 lbs/day  (15.4 lbs/day) 
1st Chronic 
(Serious) 

$3,000 

11/24/01 Exceeded 7-Day Average BOD Limitation of 
45 mg/l for week ending 11/24/01 with 
single sample from 11/21/01 (46 mg/l) 

2nd Chronic NO MMP 

12/26/01 Exceeded Daily Maximum BOD Limitation 
of 10.0 lbs/day  (12.2 lbs/day) 

3rd Chronic NO MMP 

12/26/01 Exceeded Daily Maximum Suspended Solids 
Limitation of 10.0 lbs/day  (10.7 lbs/day) 

4th Chronic $3,000 

01/04/02 Exceeded Daily Maximum BOD Limitation 
of 10.0 lbs/day  (17.8 lbs/day) 

Serious $3,000 

Total $9,000 
 

13. According to monitoring reports submitted by the Permittee, the Permittee exceeded 
four effluent limitations during the 180-day period from October 29, 2002 to  
April 26, 2003.  Of those four exceedances, all were chronic effluent violations in 
accordance with CWC Section 13385 (i)(1).  The mandatory penalty amount for those 
violations is $3,000 as shown in the following table: 

 
Table 3. Effluent Limitation Exceedances 
October 29, 2002 through April 26, 2003 

Violation 
Date 

Description of Violation Violation 
Type 

Mandatory
Penalty 

01/30/03 Exceeded Daily Maximum Acute Toxicity 
Limitation of 2.5 TUa  (100% Mortality) 

1st Chronic NO MMP 

03/10/03 Discharge pH was not within required range 
of pH 6-9  (pH 5.0) 

2nd Chronic NO MMP 

04/04/03 Exceeded Daily Maximum Total Coliform 
Bacteria Limitation of 230 MPN/100 ml 
(>1,600 MPN/100 ml) 

3rd Chronic NO MMP 

04/26/03 Discharge pH was not within required range 
of pH 6-9  (pH 4.0) 

4th Chronic $3,000 

Total $3,000 
 



Administrative Civil Liability -6- 
Complaint Order No. R1-2005-0050 
 
 

 

 

 

14. According to monitoring reports submitted by the Permittee, the Permittee exceeded 
seven effluent limitations during the 180-day period from October 29, 2002 to  
April 26, 2003.  Of those seven exceedances, two were serious violations in 
accordance with CWC Section 13385 (h) and five were chronic effluent violations in 
accordance with CWC Section 13385 (i)(1).  The mandatory penalty amount for those 
violations is $12,000 as shown in the following table: 

 
Table 4. Effluent Limitation Exceedances 

September 12, 2003 through March 9, 2004 
Violation 

Date 
Description of Violation Violation 

Type 
Mandatory

Penalty 
12/11/03 Exceeded Daily Maximum Acute Toxicity 

Limitation of 2.5 TUa (100% Mortality) 
1st Chronic NO MMP 

12/31/03 Failed to Meet 75% Removal for Suspended 
Solids for December 2003  (61%) 

2nd Chronic NO MMP 

01/14/04 Exceeded Daily Maximum Acute Toxicity 
Limitation of 2.5 TUa (100% Mortality) 

3rd Chronic NO MMP 

01/21/04 Exceeded Daily Maximum Total Residual 
Chlorine Limitation of 0.288 mg/l (1.0 mg/l) 

4th Chronic 
(Serious) 

$3,000 

01/29/04 Exceeded Daily Maximum Total Residual 
Chlorine Limitation of 0.288 mg/l (0.5 mg/l) 

Serious $3,000 

02/10/04 Exceeded Daily Maximum Acute Toxicity 
Limitation of 2.5 TUa (100% Mortality) 

Chronic $3,000 

03/09/04 Exceeded Daily Maximum Acute Toxicity 
Limitation of 2.5 TUa (100% Mortality) 

Chronic $3,000 

Total $12,000 
 

15. The total amount of the mandatory penalties for serious and chronic violations 
occurring during the period January 5, 2000 through March 9, 2004 is $ 45,000.  
Regional Water Board staff costs for addressing this enforcement action are estimated 
at approximately $2,600 for 40 hours of staff time to prepare this Complaint and 
associated documents for the enforcement hearing1. 

 
16. The issuance of this Complaint is an enforcement action to protect the environment, 

and is therefore exempt from the provisions of the California Environmental Quality 
Act (Public Resources Code Section 21000 et seq.) pursuant to Title 14, California 
Code of Regulations Sections 15308 and 1532 (a)(2). 

 
THE MENDOCINO COUNTY WATER WORKS DISTRICT NO. 2 IS HEREBY GIVEN 
NOTICE THAT: 

 
1. The Executive Officer of the Regional Water Board proposes that the Dischargers be 

assessed a Mandatory Penalty in the amount of $45,000 for the violations that 
occurred from January 5, 2000 through March 9, 2004. 

                                                 
1 The cost of staff time is $65 per hour. 
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2. A hearing shall be conducted on this Complaint by the Regional Water Board on  
June 22, 2005 unless the Dischargers waive the right to a hearing by signing and 
returning the waiver form attached to this Complaint.  By doing so, the Dischargers 
agree to: 

 
a. Pay the mandatory penalty of $45,000 in full within 30 days of the date of this 

Complaint, or 
 
b. Propose a SEP in the amount up to $30,000 and pay the balance of the penalty 

within 30 days of the date of the Complaint. 
 
c. Propose a CP in an amount up to $42,400 and pay the balance of the penalty 

within 30 days of the date of this Complaint. 
 

3. If the Dischargers choose to propose a SEP or CP, it must submit a proposal within 
30 days of the date of this Complaint to the Executive Officer for conceptual 
approval.  Any SEP or CP proposal shall conform to the requirements specified in 
applicable section of the Enforcement Policy and the attached guidance documents 
for SEPs and CPs.  If the proposed SEP or CP is not acceptable, the Executive Officer 
may allow the Dischargers 30 days to submit a new or revised proposal, or may 
demand that, during the same 30-day period, the Discharger pay the suspended 
penalty of $6,000.  All payments, including money not used for the SEP or the CP, 
must be payable to the State Water Pollution Cleanup and Abatement Account. 

 
4. If the Discharger waives the hearing and pays the liability, the resulting settlement 

may become effective on the next day after the public comment period for this 
Complaint is closed, provided that there are no significant public comments on this 
Complaint during the public comment period.  If there are significant public 
comments, the Executive Officer may withdraw the Complaint, reissue it as 
appropriate, or take other appropriate action. 

 
5. If a hearing is held, the Regional Water Board may impose an administrative civil 

liability in the amount proposed or for a different amount; decline to seek civil 
liability; or refer the matter to the Attorney General to have a Superior Court consider 
enforcement. 

 
6. Regulations of the United States Environmental Protection Agency require public 

notification of any proposed settlement of the civil liability occasioned by violation of 
the Clean Water Act, including NPDES permit violations.  Accordingly, interested 
persons will be given 30 days to comment on any proposed settlement of this 
Complaint. 
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7. In the event that the Discharger is required to pay a previously suspended penalty 
amount, payment of the previously suspended penalty amount does not relieve the 
Discharger of the indepefident obligation to take necessary actions to achieve 
compliance. 

8. Notwithstanding the issuance of the Complaint, the Regional Water Board shall retain 
the authority to assess additional penalties for violations of the Discharger's waste 
discharge requirements. 

Ordered by / 
%~atjdedhe E. Kuldman 

June 15,2005 


