## STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD RESOLUTION NO. 2008-0042

APPROVE FUNDS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$525,000 FROM THE CLEANUP AND ABATEMENT ACCOUNT (CAA) TO THE SAN DIEGO REGIONAL WATER QUALITY CONTROL BOARD (SAN DIEGO REGIONAL WATER BOARD) FOR A STUDY OF SEDIMENT CONTAMINATION AND EUTROPHICATION IN COASTAL WETLANDS IN THE SAN DIEGO REGION

## WHEREAS:

- 1. The San Diego Regional Water Board requests \$525,000 from the CAA for a study of sediment contamination and eutrophication in San Diego coastal wetlands. This study is in coordination with the Southern California Coastal Water Research Project's (SCCWRP) Southern California Bight 2008 Regional Program.
- 2. The expected results of the study will be used to aid in cleanup and abatement of sources of waste by: (1) Identifying coastal wetlands that are impacted; (2) Identifying severity of impacts; (3) Identifying wastes that cause impacts; (4) Identifying sources of waste; and
  - (5) Developing tools to clean up waste and abate sources of waste.
- 3. The requested allocation is consistent with the purposes of Water Code §13442. Water Code §13442 provides that the State Water Board may order moneys to be paid from CAA to a public agency with authority to cleanup or abate the effects of a waste in order "to assist in cleaning up the waste or abating its effects on waters of the state."

## THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

The State Water Board approves funding of \$525,000 from the CAA to the San Diego Regional Water Board to fund a study of sediment contamination and eutrophication in coastal wetlands in the San Diego Region.

The funds will be available until May 31, 2011. Any unexpended funds as of May 31, 2011, shall revert to CAA, unless the Deputy Director of the Division of Financial Assistance authorizes an extension.

## **CERTIFICATION**

The undersigned Clerk to the Board does hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and correct copy of a resolution duly and regularly adopted at a meeting of the State Water Resources Control Board held on June 17, 2008.

AYE: Vice Chair Gary Wolff, P.E., Ph.D.

Arthur G. Baggett, Jr. Charles R. Hoppin Frances Spivy-Weber

NAY: None

ABSENT: Chair Tam M. Doduc

ABSTAIN: None

Dorothy Rice, Executive Director for Jeanine Townsend, Clerk to the Board